LibGuides: Fashion Design: AAS Exhibition Themes: Visionary: Breaking Boundaries

Which designers, architects, and photographers are breaking boundaries?

Who are the visionaries? Who is innovative? unconventional? breakthrough? inspirational?

Exhibition theme Spring 2017: Visionary: Breaking Boundaries

Note: This page is not updated after exhibit semester has ended. Suggestions & sources are often still valid & helpful, but remember to check for newer books, websites, etc.

Visionary Architecture

Fashion Visionaries

Visionaire

The Photo Book

The Fashion Book

Who are the visionaries?

Rei Kawakubo
Thom Browne
Haider Ackermann - The Ackermann Effect by J.S. Marcus, The Wall Street Journal, 2/15/13
Vivienne Westwood Vivienne Westwood & Malcolm McLaren, Pirates collection, Fall 1981
Hussein Chalayan Hussein Chalayan, "remote Control", Spring/Summer 2000, ed. 2005
Azzedine Alaia

Phillip Lim
Dries Van Noten Dries Van Noten, Ensemble, Fall/Winter 2013/14
Issey Miyake - Tokyo Museum Exhibits Issey Miyake's Constant Innovations, by Yuri Kageyama, Business of Fashion, 5/31/16

Or be inspired by another designer who you find is visionary ...

Frank Gehry Frank Gehry, Exterior detail of Guggenheim Museum Bilbao
I.M. Pei
Tadao Ando
Zaha Hadid
Bjarke Ingels Bjarke Ingels, Via 57 West, NYC
Diller Scofidio + Renfro
Jeanne Gang
Jean Nouvel
Herzog and de Meuron Herzog & de Meuron, IKMZ, Cottbus, Brandenburg
Renzo Piano
Santiago Calatrava

Or be inspired by another architect who you find is visionary ...

Man Ray
Horst - Horst: Photographer of Style, Victoria & Albert Museum
Cecil Beaton
Herb Ritts - Herb Ritts L. A. Style exhibit at the The J. Paul Getty Museum
Helmut Newton
Richard Avedon - Avedon Foundation fashion photographs
David LaChapelle

Or be inspired by another photographer who you find is visionary ...

Find Articles and Images

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Fashion encyclopedia including good overview articles of designers with images of their work. Also, e-book and scholarly articles.
Use an incognito browser to access this resource. Click to watch video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tMrT7gV3j6I
Gale eBooks (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia articles including overviews of architects, photographers, and designers. A good place to start your research.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
American Vogue from 1892-current, including all articles, ads, editorial content, fashion shoots, images.
Harper's Bazaar Archive This link opens in a new window
From 1867-recent issues, including all articles, ads, editorial content, fashion shoots, images.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
High resolution images of works by architects, photographers, and some fashion designers.
FITDIL: FIT Digital Image Library This link opens in a new window
A digital repository consisting of over 100,000 images, including FIT student and faculty work, exhibitions, and instructional resources.
Fashion Studies Online: The Videofashion Library This link opens in a new window
Spanning almost 40 years, this collection includes over 1,200 hours of videos of runway shows, designer profiles, and documentary films including coverage of the major fashion weeks in Milan, Paris, New York and London, as well as Miami swim and New York bridal collections.

Forecasting & other helpful databases - lots of inspiration - design & color!

Use to look up theme, shape, detail, designer and get runway photos and inspiration for your designs!

WGSN Fashion This link opens in a new window
Trend reports & forecasting for fashion
Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click to create or re-activate account:
https://www-wgsn-com.libproxy.fitsuny.edu/accounts/edu

Locked out of your account for too many incorrect login attempts? Reset your password here:
https://www.wgsn.com/auth/forgotpassword

To access WGSN Fashion

login via the proxy and then with your WGSN username and password
select the part of the site you wish to use from the top menu under "Fashion"
Use an incognito browser to access this resource.Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click on re-activate account.
WGSN Interiors This link opens in a new window
Trend reports & forecasting for home products and more. Includes interior and architectural design.
Fashion Snoops This link opens in a new window
Users are required to create a MY FS account

Trend reports & forecasting for fashion. Use Mozilla/Firefox, Google Chrome, Safari and Internet Explorer (version 10 and up only - older versions of Internet Explorer are not compatible).
Doneger Tobe This link opens in a new window
Trend reports & forecasting for fashion. Use the password listed for Doneger.
Material Connexion This link opens in a new window
A material database with access to innovative, sustainable materials and technologies from 75+ industries.

New users may set up an account by clicking on “Log In” at the upper right corner and following the prompts.

Faculty may book class tours to visit Material Connexion. Appointments are required. Please contact Lana Bittman - lana_bittman[at]fitnyc.edu for details.

Featured designer: An article - and an exhibit : Rei Kawakubo

What the Comme des Garçons Show Means for the Met — and Fashion
Article by Vanessa Friedman, The New York Times, 10/21/16
The New York Times: Comme des Garçons — Looks From the Past 19 Years

Rei Kawakubo Conceptual clothing: The history and the art of Kawakubo's brand. Rei Kawakubo, the enigmatic head of innovative Japanese fashion house Comme des Garçons, has a special vision which extends beyond clothing to furniture, architecture, and graphic design, always defying conventional thinking. i-D examines Rei's complex and conceptual world, digging through the magazines archive and re-visiting interviews which explore how the fashion house continues to challenge the Western ideals of body shape and garment construction. Breaking the conventional rules, Kawakubo continues to push boundaries, perfectly marrying fashion with art in the most unexpected of ways. Packed into 120 pages is biographical and personal information as well as imagery from photographers including Paolo Roversi, David Bailey, and Emma Summerton, plus interviews with Jamie Huckbody, Josh Sims, and Terry Jones. Text in English, French, German, and Spanish

Rei Kawakubo / Comme des Garçons Exhibit
Watch for the Rei Kawakubo / Comme des Garçons exhibit at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, May 4-September 4, 2017

Find Books & ebooks, catalogs, look books

Other Useful Research Guides

Fashion Designers
by Loraine Baratti Last Updated Mar 15, 2024 490 views this year
Art History and Fine Arts
by Maria Rothenberg Last Updated Apr 23, 2024 230 views this year
Photography
by Helen Lane Last Updated Apr 29, 2024 17 views this year
Image Searching and Image Collections
by Naomi Schwer Bricker Last Updated Jun 15, 2023 353 views this year
Fashion Design: Inspiration, Illustration, and Tools
by Miyo Sandlin Last Updated Apr 19, 2024 272 views this year