LibGuides: Fashion Design: AAS Exhibition Themes: REUSE

REUSE

Definition/s

Reuse (also known as repurposing or upcycling) is one of the three R's for the environment: Reuse, Repurpose and Recycle.

The goal of the three R's is to protect the planet by eliminating waste. Using something multiple times in a variety of ways reduces the amount tossed into landfills and decreases manufacturing needs.

Magazines: Online and Off

Women’s magazine archive

FIT online database

Another Magazine Archive

FIT online database.

National geographic

Prêt-à-porter collections

Vogue Archive

FIT online database

People weekly

Sportswear international Close

!Hola! Numero extraordinario

Selvedge

Now

24/7: Electronic Resources

WGSN Insight This link opens in a new window
Consumer, marketing, retail, and innovation trends

Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click to create or re-activate account: https://www-wgsn-com.libproxy.fitsuny.edu/accounts/edu

Locked out of your account for too many incorrect login attempts? Reset your password here:
https://www.wgsn.com/auth/forgotpassword
To access WGSN Insight:

login via the proxy and then with your WGSN username and password
select the part of the site you wish to use from the top menu under "Fashion"
Use an incognito browser to access this resource
WGSN Fashion This link opens in a new window
Trend reports & forecasting for fashion
Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click to create or re-activate account:
https://www-wgsn-com.libproxy.fitsuny.edu/accounts/edu

Locked out of your account for too many incorrect login attempts? Reset your password here:
https://www.wgsn.com/auth/forgotpassword

To access WGSN Fashion

login via the proxy and then with your WGSN username and password
select the part of the site you wish to use from the top menu under "Fashion"
Use an incognito browser to access this resource.Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click on re-activate account.
Fashion Snoops This link opens in a new window
Users are required to create a MY FS account

Trend reports & forecasting for fashion. Use Mozilla/Firefox, Google Chrome, Safari and Internet Explorer (version 10 and up only - older versions of Internet Explorer are not compatible).
Doneger Tobe This link opens in a new window
Trend reports & forecasting for fashion. Use the password listed for Doneger.
Material Connexion This link opens in a new window
A material database with access to innovative, sustainable materials and technologies from 75+ industries.

New users may set up an account by clicking on “Log In” at the upper right corner and following the prompts.

Faculty may book class tours to visit Material Connexion. Appointments are required. Please contact Lana Bittman - lana_bittman[at]fitnyc.edu for details.
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
E-books and scholarly articles on fashion topics. It also offers an extensive image collection including 1400+ selections from CoPA (Commercial Pattern Archive 1868 to 2000) and a fashion museum directory.
Use an incognito browser to access this resource. Click to watch video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tMrT7gV3j6I
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains an archive starting in 1883 to 2005 for eleven magazines typically marketed to women, with high-resolution color scans and feature detailed article-level indexing. Titles and specific coverage includes:

- Better Homes & Gardens (1922 - 2005)
- Chatelaine (1928 - 2005)
- Cosmopolitan (1926 - 2004)
- Essence (1970 - 2005)
- Good Housekeeping (1885 - 2005)
- Ladies’ Home Journal (1883 - 2005)
- Parents (1926 - 2005)
- Redbook (1903 - 2005)
- Seventeen (1944 - 2005)
- Women’s Day (1937-2005)
- Women’s International Network News (WIN News) (1975-2005)