Note: This page is not updated after exhibit semester has ended. Suggestions & sources are often still valid & helpful, but remember to check for newer books, websites, etc.
Use these suggestions to find books, articles, images, DVDs, websites, and more on femme fatale, film noir, Hollywood costume, movies, the 1940s, etc.
Spring 2011 AAS Exhibition theme : “Femme Fatale.”
There is a lot we can do, as a Library, to support your inspirational and visual research on Film Noir, Hollywood fashion of the 1940s, and related areas. We understand that many students will be away from the city during winter break and January. Therefore we would like to offer our support online.
Here some online resources and services - from the Library and the web – that we highly recommend
Recommended Databases:
Image databases To search for high quality images from the time period (http://www.fitnyc.edu/8559.asp)
Forecasting services For Film Noir’s continuing influence (http://www.fitnyc.edu/8562.asp)
Fashion and Costume Design databases (http://www.fitnyc.edu/8563.asp)
ABC CLIO Ebook Collection which includes the Encyclopedia of Film Noir and other books about popular culture in the 1940s (http://libproxy.fitsuny.edu:2048/login?url=http://ebooks.greenwood.com/)
Recommended Research Guides:
Fashion and Costume Books, databases, and websites on fashion and costume. (http://fitnyc.libguides.com/fashion)
Time Periods Research Tips on conducting historical research, recommended resources. (http://fitnyc.libguides.com/timeperiods).
Image Searching and Image Collections Advice and recommendations on locating quality images. (http://fitnyc.libguides.com/images)
Recommended Online Services:
Ask a Librarian Our e-mail research assistance service (http://www.fitnyc.edu/library/ask
Recommended Websites:
Filmsite: Greatest Femmes Fatales in Classic Film Noir
:
| Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu |