LibGuides: Fashion Design: AAS Exhibition Themes: Africa's Fashion Diaspora

Current Theme

It's here! Our theme for Spring 2025, Africa's Fashion Diaspora

Research & Inspo

Africa's Fashion Diaspora
This reading lists collects books from the library's collection about international Black diasporic fashion and style.
African Fashion & Textiles
This reading lists collects books on African fashion design, textile design, and the related industries.

Berg Fashion Library
E-books and scholarly articles on fashion topics. It also offers an extensive image collection including 1400+ selections from CoPA (Commercial Pattern Archive 1868 to 2000) and a fashion museum directory.
Use an incognito browser to access this resource. Click to watch video.
Diversity & Ethnic Studies eBook Collection
A collection of nearly 5,000 eBooks e-books on the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion
Ebony Magazine Archive
Ebony magazine coverage from 1945-2014
Ethnic Diversity Source
Covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America, providing full-text content from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies, and primary source documents.
Exploring Race in Society
Designed for high school and undergraduate students, Exploring Race in Society provides context and solutions-oriented points of view within a scholarly collection of proprietary and licensed content on topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.
Fashion and Race Database
The Fashion and Race Database examines the history and impact of race in the fashion system and our everyday life.

1,600+ research resources (including media) in The Library, covering interdisciplinary topics and categorized by keyword, author and year

Original essays, profiles and object analyses, primarily authored by racialized and minoritized scholars and writers
Search content across the platform
Resources can be collected, saved and emailed with the "My List" feature
Accessibility-compliant for screen readers, low vision, dyslexia, and seizure risk
"Related Content" on the content pages aids in discovering new and relevant material
FRD adds and updates content on a monthly basis
Visit The Fashion and Race Database to validate as an FIT user
Sign up for an account using an FIT email
After the initial visit verifying FIT access, users are free to come back to FRD by way of any link to fashionandrace.org (proxied link not required)
Future Snoops
Please login using the username and password listed under Future Snoops.
Trend reports & forecasting for fashion. Formally called “Fashion Snoops.”
Please login using the username and password listed under Future Snoops.
Users are required to create a MY FS account
Use Mozilla/Firefox, Google Chrome, and Safari
Jet Magazine Archive
Archive of Jet magazine from the first issue in 1951 through 2014, covering art, news, politics and other social topics with an African-American focus. The archive includes over 3,100 issues providing a broad view of culture, fashion and entertainment.
Peclers(+)
Fashion and trend forecasting service
Click to register for an account
Once registered, click to login.
To access Peclers(+):

Use activation code: 1GP8YF7I
Use your FIT email address
For "position" type student or employee job title
WGSN Fashion
Trend reports & forecasting for fashion.
Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click to create or re-activate account
Locked out of your account for too many incorrect login attempts? Reset your password here.
To access WGSN Fashion login via the proxy and then with your WGSN username and password select the part of the site you wish to use from the top menu.
Use an incognito browser to access this resource.

Fashion Design: AAS Exhibition Themes

Museums

Research Guides

Current Theme

Research & Inspo