LibGuides: FM114 and Beyond: Research A Designer

Chanel: catwalk: the complete Karl Lagerfeld collections

Undercover by Jun Takahasi

Issey Miyake

Fashion Innovators [e-book]

Oscar de la Renta

Balenciaga: master of lace

Dior: new looks

Fashion Innovators

Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Gale eBooks (GVRL)
Includes the following titles - Contemporary Fashion, Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion, In An Influential Fashion, and Fashion, Costume and Culture
Berg Fashion Library
Fashion encyclopedia plus e-books and scholarly articles with extensive image collection

Use an incognito browser to access this resource. Click to watch video.
ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
Contains the ever useful The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing through American History, 1900 to the Present, as well as reference e-books about each decade in the 20th Century

E-Journals & Databases

Business of Fashion (BoF)
You must register for BoF Professional's student membership using an FIT email address.
-On the BoF home page click "join now"
-Register an account as "student" or "staff"
-Include Fashion Institute of Technolgy as your school
-Enter name of a course you are taking or teaching
-Add your graduation date
-You will be asked to re-validate your email address each year.

Click to register for BoF Professional.
Select the option that says "Log in to your existing account" and use your FIT email address
A code will be sent to your email to use to login
For help, please contact BoF at professional.groups@businessoffashion.com.
Business Source Complete - EBSCO Interface
Comprehensive, searchable, mostly full-text coverage, of business articles, industry and company reports, market research reports and more, from business magazines, trade publications, scholarly journals, etc., dating back as far as 1886.
Ebony Magazine Archive
Ebony magazine coverage from 1945-2014
Gale General OneFile
Search consumer magazines, trade publications, scholarly journals and more on wide range of topics. Good coverage of fashion and lifestyle. 1980 - current
Harper's Bazaar Archive
Comprehensive, searchable archive of every page, advertisement, and cover of the U.S. Harper's Bazaar from its first appearance in 1867 to the current month. Current content available: 1940-2015 (with gaps).
Vogue Archive
Search all issues of American Vogue from first issue in 1892 to the present, including text, editorial images & fashion shoots, and ads.
Vogue Italia Archive
Contains every issue of Vogue Italia from 1964 to present. Each issue can be browsed cover-to-cover in searchable full-text format. Each page and image is reproduced in high-resolution color with indexing, enabling images to be searched by garment type, designer, and brand names, among others. All covers, advertisements, fold outs and pictorial features are captured as separate documents,which are also indexed, searchable, and viewable in high-resolution color.
WWD Archive (ProQuest)
Full-text coverage of Woman’s Wear Daily from 1910 - current (6 month delay on new issues)
WWD Online (1994-Current)
Women's Wear Daily articles from 1994 to present, full text issues in PDF format, directory, runway photos, videos etc. Includes FN (footwear) DNR (menswear) Beauty Inc. and other Fairchild publications. More limited free version available.

Image Databases

Artstor on JSTOR
Digital library of art images from museums and other institutions in all areas of the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Includes images from the Metropolitan Museum Costume Institute.
Vogue Archive
Search all issues of American Vogue from 1892 to the present, including text, editorial images, and ads.
Berg Fashion Library
Integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history, including the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion and other reference resources, an extensive E-Book collection, scholarly articles, vast image collection with 1400+ selections from CoPA (Commercial Pattern Archive 1868 to 2000), fashion museum directory.

Use an incognito browser to access this resource. Click to watch video.

FIT Special Collections - Flickr
Museum at FIT: Online Collections
Timeline of Art History - Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.

V & A Museum - Search the Collection

VADS: Online Resource for Visual Arts

<< Previous: Assignments ►

Next: Research a Company / Industry >>

FM114 and Beyond

Search Our Catalog

Related Guides

Chanel: catwalk: the complete Karl Lagerfeld collections

Undercover by Jun Takahasi

Issey Miyake

Fashion Innovators [e-book]

Oscar de la Renta

Balenciaga: master of lace

Dior: new looks

Fashion Innovators

Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

E-Journals & Databases

Image Databases