LibGuides: FM114 and Beyond: Research a Company / Industry

Company Histories in Databases

Screen shot of Hoovers database main page Business Insights Essentials

Databases on the FIT Library Web Site: (current FIT username/password required)

Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Use Advanced Search to enter "International Directory of Company Histories" OR "Notable Corporate Chronologies " as "publication name" , along with the company name
Business Source Complete - Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window
Company profiles available form a variety of sources including Marketline
Hoover's Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hoover’s, a subsidiary of The Dun and Bradstreet Corporation (D&B), offers proprietary business information Hoover's provides data on more than 85 million corporations, 100 million people, and 1,000 industries.
Firefox Private and Google Chrome Incognito are supported browsers.
Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window
Industry market research covering:
Advertising & Branding, Apparel, Textiles & Fashions, Consumer Products & Services, E-Commerce & Internet,Entertainment, Publishing & Media, Games, Apps & Social Media, Green Technology, and Retail. Also some company profiles for "major companies and mid-size firms" in those industries.

Industry Sources : Databases with reports, articles, statistics and more

Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
For SWOT analyses, choose:
Advanced Search>Select Limiters>Content Type>SWOT Reports
Business Source Complete - EBSCO Interface This link opens in a new window
-For SWOT analysis of a specific company, choose advanced Search>Publication Type> SWOT Analysis and also enter the company name OR browse> SWOT Analysis
-"Marketline Industry Profiles" are available in this database
Also, miscellaneous reports--not all years or industries--from :
Accounting research & analytics, llc d/b/a cfra
Acquisdata pty ltd (Australia)
Barnes Reports
Business Monitor International (UK based, but global coverage of pharmaceuticals and healthcare, and power , telecom, tourism and more
Frpt Research (India)
Lhs markit ltd.
International council of shopping centers
Madras consultancy group
Organisation for economic cooperation & development (OECD)
SeeNews Research & Profiles (Bulgaria)
Taiwan institute of economic research
Wedding report inc.
eMarketer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides data, statistics, insights, and perspectives for marketing in a digital world.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Offering more than 14,000 titles including peer-reviewed, scholarly, general interest, and trade publications on an array of topics including science & medicine, business, economics, literature, drama, politics, careers, technology, and more from 1980 to present.
Hoover's Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find industry overviews and data by choosing:
Research Industries > Industry (or industry type) > [keyword or code e.g. NAICS]
Don't forget to click "add" and "view results" to complete your search
Features: Industry Snapshot PDF, Latest News, Peer Analysis, Related Industries, Industry Activities,
Market Research:
, Analysts' Reports, All Market Research Reports,
Freedonia Focus, RMA Industry Norms
MarketLine Industry Profiles, Euromonitor Industry Reports
Firefox Private and Google Chrome Incognito are supported browsers.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Original market research on product categories, consumer groups, and general trends. Mostly US and Europe-focused.
To receive email alerts, click on account settings in the top right, go to “My account and meet the team,” and then click on the "Update your details" button to enter your FIT email address.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides international market intelligence, including economic statistics, on industries, countries, and consumers.
Plunkett Research eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
PDF versions of industry market research annuals:
Advertising & Branding, Apparel, Textiles & Fashions, Consumer Products & Services, E-Commerce & Internet,Entertainment, Publishing & Media, Games, Apps & Social Media, Green Technology, and Retail. Supplemented and updated by Plunkett Research Online
Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window
Industry market research covering:
Advertising & Branding, Apparel, Textiles & Fashions, Consumer Products & Services, E-Commerce & Internet,Entertainment, Publishing & Media, Games, Apps & Social Media, Green Technology, and Retail. Also some company profiles for "major companies and mid-size firms" in those industries.
RKMA Market Research Reports This link opens in a new window
E-books annuals covering several industries such as Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook
Statista This link opens in a new window
A resource for global market and consumer data and statistics.
Textile Technology Complete (TTC) This link opens in a new window
Coverage of scientific and technological aspects of textile production & processing.
CB Insights This link opens in a new window
Users must create an account using an FIT email address.
Check your email to click on a link from CB Insights
Reset your password using this link: https://app.cbinsights.com/forgot-password
CB Insights is a comprehensive global database of private companies and investors’ activities, including information about private equity, venture capital, and emerging markets. Tools provide users with quantitative data and profiles of investment firms, individual investors, private companies, and valuations, as well as reports and research articles. View any company’s funding, investors, competitors, partners, and more.
Users must create an account using an FIT email address. Check your email to click on a link from CB Insights.
Reset your password using this link.

Industry Overviews

U.S.Census Bureau: Industry Statistics Portal
By entering an NAICS code, you get a list of government statistical reports that include that industry

Statistical Abstract of the United States (through 2011 only)
Industry statistics.Also available online
Useful for historical data comparisons
"To access the most current data, please refer to the organizations cited in the source notes for each table of the Statistical Abstract. "
The 2020-2021 retail business market research handbook (E-book) by RKMA
E-Book version, FIT user name/password required

The following e-books are available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library database. Current FIT user name/password required to access