LibGuides: Advertising and Marketing: Market Research

What is Market Research?

Staff, E. (n.d.). Market Research. Retrieved April 28, 2015, from http://www.entrepreneur.com/encyclopedia/market-research

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Original market research on product categories, consumer groups, and general trends. Mostly US and Europe-focused.
To receive email alerts, click on account settings in the top right, go to “My account and meet the team,” and then click on the "Update your details" button to enter your FIT email address.

Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides international market intelligence, including economic statistics, on industries, countries, and consumers.

MRI-Simmons Insights This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
While MRI+ is often used to find demographic information about consumers of certain products, it can also be used to discover the media consumption habits of these same consumers. First time users must create a username and password using their FIT email accounts
Access is limited to ten (10) concurrent users.
Use an incognito browser to access this resource.

Demographics Now This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides demographic data for any location in the United States, from the national level down to a specific neighborhood
eMarketer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides data, statistics, insights, and perspectives for marketing in a digital world.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A resource for global market and consumer data and statistics.

Screen shot of Hoovers database main page Business Insights Essentials

Databases on the FIT Library Web Site: (current FIT username/password required)

Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Use Advanced Search to enter "International Directory of Company Histories" OR "Notable Corporate Chronologies " as "publication name" , along with the company name
Business Source Complete - Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window
Company profiles available form a variety of sources including Marketline
Hoover's Online This link opens in a new window
Hoover’s, a subsidiary of The Dun and Bradstreet Corporation (D&B), offers proprietary business information Hoover's provides data on more than 85 million corporations, 100 million people, and 1,000 industries.
Firefox Private and Google Chrome Incognito are supported browsers.
Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window
Industry market research covering:
Advertising & Branding, Apparel, Textiles & Fashions, Consumer Products & Services, E-Commerce & Internet,Entertainment, Publishing & Media, Games, Apps & Social Media, Green Technology, and Retail. Also some company profiles for "major companies and mid-size firms" in those industries.

Search for books, ebooks, articles, and more