LibGuides: Special Collections & College Archives: SPARC @ Home

About

On this page you will find a number of ways you can interact with the FIT Special Collections & College Archives from the comfort of your own home. While many of our materials are only available on premises, we have a number of digitized images, online finding aids, oral histories, and informative blogs and social media posts. The library's databases also house an array of historical resources for the FIT community.

Get to Know SPARC: Online Orientations

SPARC Digital

SPARC Digital This link opens in a new window
SPARC Digital is a platform created by FIT's Special Collections and College Archives to showcase the rare and unique materials from our collections that have been digitized. Our goal is to make our collections more widely available online to the FIT community and the general public.

Material Mode Blog

Keep informed of new things happening in SPARC via our blog, Material Mode.

FITting Room

The FITting Room
This new Augmented Reality experience from the FIT Library allows you to try on accessories featured in original fashion sketches from the Library's SPARC holdings. #FITtingroom

SPARC Coloring Book

SPARC Coloring Book
You can now print out the SPARC Coloring Book at home! This coloring book features a selection of images from rare books and manuscripts collections in the FIT Special Collections & College Archives.

Oral History Collections

Andrew Goodman, Bergdorf Goodman, 1973 Interviewed on July 31, August 14- and August 30, 1973.

Nena Goodman, 1994*
Edwin Goodman, 1994*
Dawn Mello, 1994*
Steven Elkin, 1994*

*All are audio/video files that can be found on our YouTube channel (upload in progress)

Norman Axelrod Senior vice president and general merchandise manager for Bloomingdales. Interviewed by Estelle Ellis on January 16, 1987. This interview mostly discusses Marvin Stuart Traub, president of Bloomingdales from 1969 and CEO from 1978 to 1991, who was being honored with the "One Person Makes a Difference" award at the Educational Foundation of the Fashion Industries Dinner Dance at F.I.T. Click on "FIT" icon for audio recording.
- This link opens in a new window
Barbara Bass Interviewed by Estelle Ellis, [1986]
Gordon Cooke Executive vice president of sales and promotion for Bloomingdale's in the 1980's interviewed by Estelle Ellis on November 5, 1986.This interview mostly discusses Marvin Stuart Traub, president of Bloomingdales from 1969 and CEO from 1978 to 1991, who was being honored with the "One Person Makes a Difference" award at the Educational Foundation of the Fashion Industries Dinner Dance at F.I.T. Click on "FIT" icon for audio recording.
- This link opens in a new window
Dennis Garro Interviewed by Estelle Ellis, [1986]
Barbara D'Arcy Merchandising executive and head of store design for Bloomingdale's through the mid 1970's interviewed by Estelle Ellis on November 5, 1986.This interview mostly discusses Marvin Stuart Traub, president of Bloomingdales from 1969 and CEO from 1978 to 1991, who was being honored with the "One Person Makes a Difference" award at the Educational Foundation of the Fashion Industries Dinner Dance at F.I.T. Click on "FIT" icon for audio recording.
- This link opens in a new window
Lester Gribetz Interviewed by Estelle Ellis, [1986]
Margaret Hofbeck Interviewed by Estelle Ellis, [1986]
Carl Levine Interviewed by Estelle Ellis, [1986].
Alan Reyburn Interviewed by Estelle Ellis, [1986].
Terry Shaffer Interviewed by Estelle Ellis, [1986].
Russel Stravitz Interviewed by Estelle Ellis, [1986].
Julian Tomchin Interviewed by Estelle Ellis, [1986].
Lee Traub Interviewed by Estelle Ellis, [1986].
Marvin Traub Interviewed by Estelle Ellis, [1986].

Jeffrey Buchman, 1994
Lynn Glazer, 1994
Harry Greenberg, 1994
Nancy Grossman, 1994
Allen Hershfield, 1994
Ingrid Johnson, 1994
Ronald Lubman, 1994
Philip Milio, 1994
Gibbs Murray, 1994
Raoul Nacinovich, 1994
Judith Parkas, 1994
Annette Piecora, 1994
Eve Pollack, 1994
Christine Pupillo, 1994
Marvin Rippy, 1994
Jack Rittenberg, 1994
Marc Rosenberg, 1994
Edith Sancroft, 1994
Aaron Schorr, 1994
Peter Scotese, 1994
Peg Smith, 1994
Elaine Stone, 1994
Richard Streiter, 1994
Leonard Trattner, 1994
Louis Zaera, 1994
Martin Zelnick, 1994

*All are audio/video files that can be found on our YouTube channel (upload in progress)

Maud Adams and Carl Richards Interviewed by Patty Sicular on June 20, 2011.
Eva Andersson Interviewed by Daniel Passaro on April 7, 2010.
Anne Anka and Lorraine Davies Interviewed by Patty Sicular on June 24, 2011.
Jane Axell Interviewed by Patty Sicular on June 8, 2010.
Glenda Bailey Interviewed by Karen Trivette Cannell on July 2, 2010.
Howard Balaban Interviewed by Patty Sicular on July 22, 2010.
Gian Paulo Barbieri Interviewed by Salvatore Moltisanti on May 28, 2010.
Original Barbieri interview in Italian
Neal Barr Interviewed by Patty Sicular on July 19, 2010.
Bruce Bauer Interviewed by Patty Sicular on June 21, 2011.
Shari Belafonte Interviewed by Patty Sicular on July 23, 2010.
Susan Berr and Jan Gonet Interviewed by Patty Sicular.
Karen Bjornson Interviewed by Karen Trivette Cannell on April 8, 2010.
Susie Blakely Interviewed by Patty Sicular on July 20, 2010.
Zineta Blank Interviewed by Patty Sicular on June 17, 2010. Blank has spent many years collaborating with Ford Model Agency as the president and owner of Visage Model Agency, which is based in Zurich, Switzerland.
The Booker Profiles Reflections on the Ford Models Plus Division.
Jolanda Boot Interviewed by Karen Trivette Cannell on April 8, 2010.
Susan Brainard Interviewed by Patty Sicular on May 18, 2010.
Martha Branch Interviewed by Linda Morand on March 31, 2010.
Ronnie Carroll, Terri May and Rio Morse Interviewed by Patty Sicular on June 22, 2010.
Kim Charlton Interviewed by Patty Sicular and Joy Bell on may 5, 2010.
Barbara Clement (Gould) Interviewed by Karen Trivette Cannell on April 8, 2010.
Gary Dakin Interviewed on June 17, 2010.
Nesta David Interviewed by Karen Trivette Cannell on July 2, 2010.
Toni Demarco and Chris O'Conner Interviewed by Patty Sicular on July 20, 2010.
Dinah Dillman-Kaufman Dinah discusses the modeling career of her mother, Suzy Parker. Interviewed by Patty Sicular on July 23, 2010.
Jan Gonet and Antonia Steffens Interviewed by Patty Sicular on June 21, 2011.
Sunny Griffin Interviewed by Patty Sicular on July 20, 2010.
Pia Gronning Interviewed by Patty Sicular on July 20, 2010.
Bettie Johnson Interviewed by Patty Sicular on July 21, 2010.
Beverly Johnson Interviewed by Patty Sicular on July 22, 2010.
Harry King Interviewed by Patty Sicular on May 5, 2010.
Cheri LaRocque Interviewed by Patty Sicular on July 22, 2010.
Gideon Lewin First interview with Linda Morand on March 31, 2010 and second interview with Patty Sicular and Joy Bell on May 5, 2010.
Bonnie Lysohir-Pressman Interviewed by Daniel Passero on April 15, 2010.
Eugenia Mclin Interviewed by Patty Sicular on June 23, 2010.
Jane Meehan Interviewed by Patty Sicular on September 14, 2010.
Jane Meehan and Louise Roberts Interviewed by Patty Sicular on September 14, 2010.
Bob Menna Interviewed by Patty Sicular on July 22, 2010.
Barbara Minty Interviewed by Patty Sicular on July 22, 2010
Linda Morand Interviewed by Patty Sicular on May 18, 2010.
Carol Oliveto Interviewed by Patty Sicular on May 25, 2010.
Catherine Oxenburg, Shelly Smith, Verna Cornelius, Glass the Tramp, and Kay Sanderson Interviewed by Patty Sicular on June 22, 2011.
Laina Pecora Interviewed by Patty Sicular on April 30, 2010.
Millie Perkins and Kay Sanderson Interviewed by Patty Sicular on June 22, 2011.
Shelly Promisel Interviewed by Patty Sicular on July 22, 2010.
Crystal Renn Interviewed by Doreen Small on June 17, 2010.
Chris Royer Interviewed by Linda Morand on March 31, 2010.
Helen Ryan Interviewed by Patty Sicular on July 23, 2010.
Jack Scalia Interviewed by Patty Sicular on July 19, 2010.
Morgen Schick Interviewed by Laina Pecora Scheckman on April 30, 2010.
Beate Schulz-Moore Interviewed by Karen Trivette Cannell on July 12, 2010.
Bill Silano Interviewed by Patty Sicular on July 12, 2010.
Sharon Steinberg Interviewed by Patty Sicular on June 23, 2010.
Oren Stevens Interviewed by Patty Sicular on May 25, 2010.
Ken Stickler and Andre Dernjinsky Interviewed by Patty Sicular on July 23, 2011.
Bob Strand Interviewed by Patty Sicular on June 23, 2010.
Cheryl Tiegs Interviewed by Patty Sicular on July 21, 2010.
Bonnie Trompeter Interviewed by Karen Trivette Cannell on March 25, 2010.

James Preston, Avon, 1993

Lawrence Aiken, Sanofi Beaute, 1993

Fernando Aleau, Compar, 1993

Eugene Grisanti, International Flavors & Fragrances, 1993

Jeanette Wagner, Estee Lauder, 1993

Burton Tansky, Bergdorf Goodman, 1993

Rosemarie Bravo, Saks Fifth Avenue, 1993

*All are audio files (upload in progess)

Dr. Kevin Cahill Physician, interviewed by Mildred Finger on September 29, 1982.
Louis Clausen, 1982 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on October 15th, 1982.
Ann Keagy, Parsons School of Design, 1982 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on September 15th, 1982.
Eleanor Lambert, 1982 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on September 2nd, 1982.
Alan Levinson, 1982 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on November 9th, 1982.
Denise Linden, 1982 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on September 16th, 1982.
Edna Sullivan, 1982 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on October 4th, 1982.

Selma Frankel, 1982 Daughter of Maurice Rentner. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on August 31st, 1982.
Arthur Jablow, 1982 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on May 14th, 1982.
Mildred Klare, 1982 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on August 23rd, 1982
Bernice Rentner Jablow, 1982 Daughter of Maurice Rentner. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on May 11th, 1982 and September 20th, 1982.
Paula Neiman, 1982 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on September 14th, 1982.
Ira Rentner, 1982 Younger brother of Maurice Rentner. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on August 31st, 1982.
Lilian Sloan, 1982 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on September 1st, 1982.

Robert Abajian, 1985 Design Director of Liz Claiborne, Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger, January 19, 1985.
- This link opens in a new window
Gradina Aprile, 1989 Gradina Aprile, quill winder and weaver, Interviewed by Demetre Bove on March 8, 1989.
Ted Allan, 1991 Hollywood photographer interviewed by Robert L. Green on May 1st, 1991.
Morris Aranoff, Lady Lynne Inc., 1983 Morris Aranoff, Lady Lynne Inc., interviewed by Mildred Finger on Feb. 9, 1983.
Steve Aranoff, Lady Lynne Inc., 1983 Steve Aranoff, Lady Lynne Inc., interviewed by Mildred Finger on Friday, February 25, 1983.
Irving and Nat Bader, Originalia Inc., 1982 Interviewed by Mildred Finger, May 24, 1982.

Badgley Mischka, 1995 James Mischka speaking at the Fashion Institute of Technology about the history of his fashion label, Badgley Mischka, and how he and Mark Badgley succeeded in the fashion industry, 1995.

Geoffrey Beene, 1989 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on March 9, 1989.
Robert Bendheim, Edward Goldberger, Lowenstein Inc., 1984 Robert Bendhein, Chairman of the board for Lowenstein Inc. and Vice-chairman, Edward Goldberger interviewed on January 30th, 1984 by Mildred Finger.
Sidney Bernstein, Education Foundation of the Fashion Industries, 1985 Vice President of the Education Foundation of the Fashion Industries. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on Feb. 5, 1985
Marvin Bienenfeld, Bestform Corp., 1983 President of the Bestform Corporation. Interviewed on April 26, 1983 by Mildred Finger.
Hazel Bishop, 1981 Interviewed by Annette Green on April 17, May 15, 1981.
Max Bornstein, 1990 Thowster and mill owner. Interviewed on February 22, 1990 by Lynn Felsher.
Leonard Boxer, 1986 Interviewed by Estelle Ellis in May 1986.
Marian Brandris, FIT 1984 Retired dean of students for FIT. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on December 19, 1984.
Mario Buatta Interior designer interviewed by Robert L. Green.
Robert Green remembers Louise Brooks Interviews by Robert L. Greene with Matthew Daniels, Ann Browning.
Henry Callahan, 1980 Interviewed by Robert L. Green on June 10, 1980.
Bonnie Cashin, 1982 Bonnie Cashin, born in Fresno, California in 1907, had a very successful costume and clothing design career spanning sixty years. In 1951 she started Bonnie Cashin, Inc declaring herself independent from the garment industry. She began working with Philip Sills, of Sills and Co. in 1952, for the 1953 fall season. By then she was known for her ability to use design ideas and take inspiration from her extensive travels.
Jack Cassidy, Lily of France, 1983 President Lily of France Marketing, Inc. Interviewed on May 12, 1983 by Mildred Finger.
Jerry Chazen, 1986 Interviewed by Estelle Ellis, May 1986.
Liz Claiborne, 1986 Interviewed by Estelle Ellis, May 1986.
Liz Claiborne, 1990 Founder of Liz Claiborne Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on July 10th & 17th, 1990.
Robert A. Coburn Hollywood photographer. Interviewed by Robert L. Green with Matthew Daniels.
Abe Cohen, Craftex, 1983 Founder of Craftex, (Gilligan & O'Malley), Intimate apparel manufacturer. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on Feb. 14, 1983.
Robert Cohen, Craftex, 1983 President of Craftex, Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on March 23, 1983.
Beatrice Coleman, Maidenform 1983 President of Maidenform. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on February 23, 1983.
John A. Cosentino, 1989 President of C. Cosentino Co. Interviewed by Arlene C. Cooper on November 25th, 1989.
B.G. Cox , Joseph & Feiss, Seymour & Lawrence Phillips, 1984 Seymour Phillips, Chairman of Phillips-Van Huesen. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on February 3rd, 1984. Lawrence Phillips, President of Phillips-Van Huesen. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on February 7th, 1984. B.G. Cox, President of Joseph & Feiss, a division of Phillips-Van Huesen. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on March 12th, 1984.
Mildred Custin, 1989 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on April 16th, 1989.
Michael Daroff, Botany Industries Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger.
Vincent DePaul Draddy, David Crystal 1982 David Crystal Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on April 1st and June 2nd, 1982.
William Dimond, 1990 Warper and mill owner. Interviewed by Lynn Felsher on July 12th 1990.
Eli Elias, National Skirt and Sportwear Association, Elias Sportwear, 1982 Founder of Elias Sportswear. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on March 25th, 1982.
John Engstead Robert L. Greene remembers hollywood photographer, John Engstead.
David Evins, 1982 Shoe designer and manufacturer. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on November 16th, 1982.
Marvin Feldman, FIT, 1984 President of FIT. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on November 13th and 21st, 1984.
John W. Field, Warnaco, 1983 Retired chairman of Warnaco, Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on March 25 and April 8, 1983.
Carlton Fishel, Trifari, 1982 Trifari Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on November 10th, 1982.
Eleanor Fried, FIT, 1984 Director of placement at FIT. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on November 29, 1984.
George Friedman, Warner-Lauren, 1981 President of Warner-Lauren Ltd. Interviewed by Robert L. Greene in the Spring of 1981.
James Galanos, 1995 American Couturier interviewed by Robert L. Green on June 5, 1995.
Andrew Goodman, Bergdorf Goodman, 1977 Interviewed by Robert Riley on Dec. 13, 1977.
Norman Goodman, 1985 Son of Andrew Goodman of Bergdorf Goodman. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on February 8, 1985.
Shirley Goodman, Educational Foundation of the Fashion Industries, 1984 Executive director of the Educational Foundation of the Fashion Industries. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on February 7, 1984.
Bud Graybill, Hollywood Still Photographer Robert L. Greene remembers Bud Graybill with Daniel Matthews.
Annette Green, 1996 Interviewed by Carol Poll on March 12, 1996.
Edith Head, Hollywood designer Robert L. Green remembers Edith Head, Hollywood designer.
Mrs. William Randolph Hearst, Jr., 1979 Interviewed by John Touhey on January 30, 1979.
Norman Hinerfeld, Kayser-Roth, 1984 Chairman of the Executive Committee Kayser-Roth. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on February 24, 1984.
Hollywood Costume Design Robert L. Green discusses Hollywood costume design from Paramount and Warner Bros.
Hollywood Design in the 1930's Robert L. Green discusses Hollywood design in the 1930's.
Paul Honig, Anglo Fabrics Inc., 1982 Interviewed by Mildred Finger January 12, 1982
George Hurrell Robert L. Green remembers George Hurrell, Hollywood photographer.
Nina Hyde, 1990 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on May 18, 1990.
Justin Israel, Knitwaves, 1984 President of Knitwaves Inc., Interviewed by Mildred Finger on February 12, 1984.
Arthur Jablow, 1982 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on May 14, 1982.
Jeanette Jarnow, FIT 1984 First chairperson of the Fashion Buying and Merchandising Department at the Fashion Institute of Technology. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on November 1, 1984.
Dorothy Jeakins Film costume designer interviewed by Robert L. Green.
Geraldine Kavanaugh Color consultant interview by Robert L. Green
Grace Kelly (Princess Grace of Monaco) Interviewed by Vera Maxwell and John Touhey on December 19, 1978.
- This link opens in a new window
Leah Knapp, 1989 Leah Knapp, quill winder, weaver. Interviewed by Demetre Bove on March 1, 1989.
Harold Komar, Charles Komar & Sons, 1983 Interviewed by Mildred Finger February 1, 1983.
Alice Kreisel, Colony Design, 1983 Co-founder of Colony, Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on February 2, 1983.
Erich Kreisel, Colony Design, 1983 President and Co-founder of Colony, Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on January 17th, 1983.
Louis Krussman, Trifari, 1982 Former President of Trifari, Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on February 16th, 1982.
Theodore Fred Kuper The reminiscences of Theodore Fred Kuper, Oral History Research Office, Columbia University, 1969. Interviewed by Lionel White September 29th, 1967 through August 15, 1969.
Madison Lacy, Hollywood photographer Hollywood photographer. Robert L. Green remembers Madison Lacy.
Eleanor Lambert, 1977 Interviewed by Phyllis Feldkamp (Dec. 8, 1977). American fashion publicist who , helped elevate American fashion to international prominence and saw that American designers earned the same respect as their European counterparts. A tireless promoter, she also established (1940) the International Best-Dressed List, introduced (1943) a week of New York fashion shows for the press, a precursor to the highly popular Fashion Week, and founded (1962) the Council of Fashion Designers of America.
Ralph Lauren, 1990 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on September 5th, 1990.
Helen Lee, 1983 Designer, Childrenswear specialist. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on July 5 and 6, 1983.
Sarah Tomerlin Lee, Tom Lee, 1983 President of Tom Lee Inc., international interior design. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on December 15 and 20, 1983.
Judith Leiber, 1982 Handbags designer and manufacturer, Judith Leiber Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on October 26, 1982.
Stanley Love, Joseph Love, 1983 President of Joseph Love Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on May 12 and 19, 1983.
Vera Maxwell, 1983 Designer and manufacturer. Interviewed on September 21, 1983 and October 11, 1983.
Harriet Meserole, 1981 Interviewed by John Touhey on October 21, 1981.
Minot Milliken, Milliken &Co., 1984 Vice President of Milliken & Co. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on May 4, 1984.
Bernadine Morris, 1990 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on June 6-7, 1990.
Melvin Morris, Valmode, 1983 President of Valmode, Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on January 19, 1983.
Morris Moskowitz, 1982 Morris Moskowitz, Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on October 29, 1982.
Robert Mulrenan, Warner's, 1983 Senior Vice President and Sales Manager of Warner Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on May 5, 1983.
Israel Myers, Londontown, 1983 Chairman emeritus, Londontown Corporation. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on March 2, 1983.
Johnathan Myers, Londontown, 1983 Former chairman of Londontown Corporation. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on May 6, 1983.
Jody (Joseph) Nachman, Swirl, 1983 Excecutive vice president of Swirl Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on March 18, 1983.
Ed Newman, Dan River, 1985 Vice president, creative director and director of advertising of Dan River, Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on December 18, 1985.
Art Ortenberg, 1986 Interviewed by Estelle Ellis in May 1986.

Mollie Parnis, 1982 Brooklyn-born ready-to-wear and boutique designer for women’s clothes. She opened her own design firm in 1933, launched her own label in the 1940’s and became known for her understated, conservative, well-tailored dresses and suits in luxurious looking fabrics. She closed her salon in 1984 but the next year started up an At-Home business concentrating on loungewear. She designed for several first ladies and in 1985 published "Fashion, the Inside Story"
Martha Phillips, 1990 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on June 18, 1990.
Joseph Picone, Evan Picone, 1984 Co-founder of Evan-Picone Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on March 16, 1984.
Fred Pomerantz, Leslie Fay, 1981 Leslie Fay Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on October 29 and November 5, 1981.
John Pomerantz, Leslie Fay, 1981-1982 A part of the Fred Pomerantz oral history transcript. Leslie Fay Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on November 11, 1981 and March 3, 1982.
Anna Potok, Maximilian Furs, 1981 Co-founder of Maximilian Furs. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on November 1 and 8, 1981.
Frank Powolny, Hollywood still photographer Frank Powolny, Hollywood still photographer. Interviewed by Robert L. Greene.
David Rappaport, Damon Creations, 1983 Founder of Damon Creations Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on August 30, 1983.
Michael Rappaport, Damon Creations, 1983 President of Damon Creations Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on December 8, 1983.
Maurice Rentner, 1982 Memoirs of Maurice Rentner from varying perspectives. Interviewed by Mildred Finger May 14 through September 1, 1982.
Anthony Ritter, Barbizon, 1983 Barbizon Corporation. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on April 12, 1982.
June Roche, Milliken & Co., 1984 Fashion director of Miliken &Co. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on July 13, 1984.
Arthur Rodbell, Parade Dress, 1982 President of Parade Dress Company. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on March 30, 1982.
Shannon Rodgers, fashion designer, 1982 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on April 1 and 13, 1982.
Carl Rosen, Puritan Fashion Corporation, 1982 Chairman and president of Puritan Fashion Corporation. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on February 16, 1982.
Eli Rousso, Russ Togs, 1982 Co-founder of Russ Togs, Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on January 27, 1982.
Louis Rousso, Russ Togs, 1982 Honorary chairman of the board, Russ Togs. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on March 24, 1982.
Irving Rubinstein , Braetan and Braefair, 1982 Known as Mr. Ruby, Sr. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on April 23 and May 5, 1982.
Arnold Scaasi, 1989 American couture designer. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on May 3, 1989.
Carolyn Schnurer, 1989 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on April 16, 1989.
Abe Schrader, 1982 Chairman of Abe Schrader Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on August 30 and September 29, 1982.
Mort Schrader, 1982 President of Abe Schrader Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on October 6, 1982.
David Schwartz, Johnathan Logan, 1981 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on October 30, 1981.
Richard Schwartz, Johnathan Logan, 1981 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on November 12, 1981.
Ben Shaw, 1981-1982 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on January 6, 8, 1982.
Jerry Shaw, 1981 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on December 17, 1981.
Alfred Slaner, Kayser-Roth, 1984 Former president of Kayser-Roth. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on February 24, 1984.
Jerry Silverman, 1982 Jerry Silverman Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on February 19 and March 23, 1982.
Adele Simpson,Designer, 1978. Designer, Adele Simpson, interviewed by Phyllis Feldkamp on June 13, 1978.
- This link opens in a new window
Janet Sloane, Madcaps, 1982 Vice president of Madcaps, Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on December 19, 1982.
Rosalind Snyder, FIT, 1984 The first dean of FIT. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on November 1, 1984.
Alfred Solomon, Madcaps, 1983 Founder of Madcaps Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on September 29, 1983.
Ben Sommers, Capezio, 1982 Former president of Capezio, Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on November 4, 1982.
George Stavropolous, 1990 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on July 9, 1990.
Michael Stein, Bali, 1983 Former chairman of the board, Bali Company, Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on May 18, 1983.
Eve Stillman, 1983 President of Eve Stillman, Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on January 19, 1983.
Jack Straus, R.H. Macy & Co., 1982 Chairman emeritus, R.H. Macy & Co. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on November 1 and 26, 1982.

Anna Sui, 1995 Anna Sui speaking at the Fashion Institute of Technology about the success of her brand, 1995.

Bill Thomas, 1982 Susan Thomas, Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on April 14, May 13, and May 25, 1982.
Pauline Trigere, 1979 Interviewed by Robert L. Green on November 13, 1979.
- This link opens in a new window
Andrew Vaccaro, 1989 Enterer, twister-in, loom fixer. Interviewed by Lynn Felsher on June 5, 1989.
Lawrence Ward, Palm Beach, 1984 Vice President for Administration, Palm Beach, Inc. Interviewed by Mildred Finger December 7, 1984.
Emanuel Weintraub, 1985 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on January 24, 1985.
John Weitz, 1983 Menswear designer. Interviewed by Mildred Finger on October 5 and 6, 1983.
David Zelinka, 1982 Interviewed by Mildred Finger on July 9, 13, and 21, 1982.
Patricia Zipprodt, 1979 Costume designer. Interviewed by Robert L. Green at Toll Gate Farm, Bucks County, November 10-11, 1979.
Sadie Zondervan, 1989 Quill winder, pinner and ribbon blocker. Interviewed by Demetre Bove on March 1, 1989

Arnold Aronson, 1990 Quotes from Arnold Aronson interview tape, March 2, 1990.
Bill Berta, 1989 Interviewed on December 13, 1989.
Melvin Jacobs, 1989 Interviewed on January 26, 1989
Allan Johnson, 1974 Interviewed in 1974.
William Lucas, 1990 Interviewed on February 28, 1990.
Helen O'Hagan, 1989 Interviewed on November 29, 1989.
Ellin Saltzman Interview quotes
Robert Suslow Interview date unknown.
Burton Tansky, 1990 Interviewed on January 26, 1990.

Instagram

FIT Special Collections Instagram
We regularly update our Instagram account with images and information from a variety of materials in our collections.

FIT Digital Image Library

FITDIL: FIT Digital Image Library This link opens in a new window
A digital repository consisting of over 100,000 images, including FIT student and faculty work, exhibitions, and instructional resources.

Other Databases

Some rare periodicals that you can find in SPARC have their own online databases that are available to the FIT community. Below is a list of these databases made available through the Gladys Marcus Library. If you belong to another institution, check your library's website to see what databases you may have access to.

Ebony Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Ebony magazine coverage from 1945-2014
Esquire Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Esquire magazine coverage from 1933-2014.
Harper's Bazaar Archive This link opens in a new window
Harper's Bazaar is the world’s oldest continuously published fashion magazine, with coverage starting in 1867 to present with additional access to the UK edition from 1929-2015, both of which are fully indexed and searchable.

Harper's Bazaar (US): 1867-Current

Harper's Bazaar (UK):
April 1930-Dec 1969

Harpers and Queen (UK):
Jan 1972-Dec 2000

Harper's Bazaar (UK):
Jan 2007-Dec 2007
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains every issue of Vogue from 1892 to present. Each issue can be browsed cover-to-cover in searchable full-text format. Each page and image is reproduced in high-resolution color with indexing, enabling images to be searched by garment type, designer, and brand names, among others. All covers, advertisements, fold outs and pictorial features are captured as separate documents,which are also indexed, searchable, and viewable in high-resolution color.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains an archive starting in 1883 to 2005 for eleven magazines typically marketed to women, with high-resolution color scans and feature detailed article-level indexing. Titles and specific coverage includes:

- Better Homes & Gardens (1922 - 2005)
- Chatelaine (1928 - 2005)
- Cosmopolitan (1926 - 2004)
- Essence (1970 - 2005)
- Good Housekeeping (1885 - 2005)
- Ladies’ Home Journal (1883 - 2005)
- Parents (1926 - 2005)
- Redbook (1903 - 2005)
- Seventeen (1944 - 2005)
- Women’s Day (1937-2005)
- Women’s International Network News (WIN News) (1975-2005)
WWD Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of Woman’s Wear Daily from 1910 - current (6 month delay on new issues)