Womenswear, Menswear, Accessories, Tag Street, Models, Talk & Trends
See the official websites for the Fashion Week events in these major cities. Some websites also contain images and video content from previous years.
Real-time access to retail data to make informed product, marketing and pricing decisions.
This link opens in a new windowTrend reports & forecasting for fashion.
Fashion and Technology by
Technology has always impacted the practice of fashion design. Though fashion and technology have long intersected, recent developments in computation have enabled the adoption of new methods, tools, and approaches to design. From materials to new manufacturing processes of the industrial age, advancements in technology have driven forward our understanding of the aesthetics, style, and functionality of garments and accessories. Fashion and Technology provides a conceptual framework for how new technologies are used in fashion design and shows how they can be implemented into the design process. This practical guide includes highly visual tutorials that introduce students and practitioners to designing with electronics-such as LEDs, sensors, electroluminescent materials, conductive and reactive materials-and digital fabrication technologies such as 3D printing and laser cutting. Projects make these innovative materials accessible to designers and will inspire creative collaborations within studio practice. Features - Highly visual Tutorials follow a consistent format for presenting each technique including descriptions, materials and supplies, workspace, safety considerations or hazards, numbered steps and finished examples - Designer Interviews and Case Studies showcase innovative fashion collections and forward-thinking collaborations - A unique chapter on designing with source code introduces programmatic concepts and terminology for novices Teaching Resources - Instructor's Guide provides suggestions for planning the course and using the text in the classroom, with supplemental assignments and lecture notes. - Test Bank includes sample test questions for each chapter. Introducing Fashion and Technology STUDIO--an online tool for more effective study! ~ Study smarter with self-quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips ~ Review concepts with flashcards of essential vocabulary ~ Watch videos that bring chapter topics and concepts to life PLEASE NOTE- Purchasing or renting this ISBN does not include access to the STUDIO resources that accompany this text. To receive free access to the STUDIO content with new copies of this book, please refer to the book + STUDIO access card bundle ISBN 9781501317415.
Digital pattern cutting for fashion with Lectra Modaris® : From 2D pattern modification to 3D prototyping
"Design your own original 2D patterns and use 3D prototyping to test your designs, achieve the perfect fit and make quick alterations. Pattern Cutting For Fashion with Lectra Modaris® will guide you from the basics of pattern modification through to 3D realisation, alteration and visual effects, as well as the completion of a finished production pattern. By viewing your garment in a virtual environment first, you will also be able to make design, colour, print and fabric decisions prior to toile making. Workshops include: A basic t-shirt; Dart modification; Darts into seams; Darts into Flare; Button wrap and facings; A Basic Jean; Pleats in a Skirt /Trouser with pocket; A shirt with two piece collar /yoke; Modelling on the half scale stand and converting pattern to full scale."--Bloomsbury Publishing.
Fashion and Textile Design with Photoshop and Illustrator by
Fashion and Textile Design with Photoshop and Illustrator is a step-by-step guide to two essential tools for textile and fashion designers. Adobe Photoshop . and Illustrator . have eclipsed many specialist textile and fashion systems due to their intuitive design, versatile function, and constant evolution. Designer and educator Robert Hume guides you from novice to expert through eighteen carefully crafted projects. You'll start by mastering layers and custom brushes, and learning about stripes and weaves, before moving on to repeats and colorways, and simple geometry, and finally learning key layout and presentation techniques in both programs. There's also advice on sharing, communication and output, and help with diagnosing and correcting common problems. Files for many of the projects are available from www.bloomsbury.com/hume-textile-design. In addition, seven case studies showcase the work and creative thinking of innovative professional designers. These designers reflect on the appeal of Illustrator and Photoshop and offer insight and inspiration to help you develop your own fun and inventive designs.
First View
International Fashion: video coverage of runway events as well as special projects, video lookbooks and e-commerce video catalog shoots for a wide range of professional clientele, from industry leaders to those just breaking in. (Note: Fashion from past year as well as clothing currently in stores may be viewed free. A subscription is required to view next year's collections or the archive of past years).
Fashion Group International
Organization of Fashion, Apparel, Accessories, Beauty and Home Industries Professionals.
Federation de la Haute Couture et de la Mode
FHCM contributes to bolstering Paris in its role as worldwide fashion capital in particular coordinating Paris Fashion Week.
Fashion - 411
Fashion Trends, Magazines & Shopping Guides
Fashion, Visual Merchandising and Mannequins
Glam.com
A vertical portal offering articles, user forums and merchandise
