LibGuides: Business of Art & Design: Business plans / trade shows

Business & related Databases

Business databases
Databases by Subject or Type (List)
more...less...
Use the drop down menu to select a subject.

RKMA Market Research Reports This link opens in a new window
Market research handbooks
Gale OneFile Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window Trade, scholarly, & general articles, some e-books 1980- present

DTech at FIT

DTech at FIT
An extension of FIT’s Innovation Center, the DTech Lab is FIT’s on-campus innovation lab developed with the promise of revolutionizing both the creative and retail industries, DTech unites design thinking with emerging technologies.

Trade shows & Exhibitor guides

EXHIBITOR Magazine: Buyer's Guide to Trade Show Exhibits

Artnet

Artnet is one of the leading online resources for art market information. It includes a vast database of art auction information, lists of works for sale, valuation information, and art market news. It is extremely useful for determining the valuation of a piece as well as researching changes in ownership.

NOTE: This resource is only available to Graduate Students. Please contact the the FIT Library via Ask the Library for access information.

Import/Export & E-commerce

Plunkett's e-Commerce and Internet Business Industry Almanac 2019 (e-Book)
Market research guide to the e-commerce and Internet business--a tool for strategic planning, competitive intelligence, employment searches or financial research. Contains trends analysis, globalization, trade, statistical tables and an industry glossary. Includes profiles of nearly 450 top e-commerce and internet industry firms, featuring addresses, phone numbers and executive names.
Import/Export Kit for Dummies by Consumer Dummies Staff; John J. Capela

Business Handbooks

Free websites for Business Information

About.com: Entreprenuers
also http://sbinformation.about.com
Bplans.com
Sample business, marketing, and advertising plans, cost calculators.
Business Owners’ Idea Café
"A fun approach to serious business” : sample business plans and worksheets.
"GenX Biz" http://businessownersideacafe.com/genx section has even lighter tone.
SCORE: Counselors to America's Small Business
Clearinghouse for free business advice from "successful entrepreneurs and executives "
"Business Tools" includes business plan templates, cash-flow spreadsheets.

Marketing your Art

Pinterest marketing : an hour a day

Build Your Own Brand

Creative business cards

The Business of Design

Art Inc.

General titles for Artists & Designers

Non-Obvious 2019

How to Be an Artist without losing your mind, your shirt, or your creative compass

The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers

Talent Is Not Enough

Show Your Work!

Featured DVD: Finding your way in the Business of Art

Finding your way in the Business of Art
Margaret Peot discusses business lessons learned over her 20-year career as an author, illustrator, costume painter, and freelance artist, as part of the Gladys Marcus Library’s 2012 Love Your Library series.

Business of Art & Design

OneSearch

Searching tips

Journal Finder

Magazines and Newspapers

Creative thinking & business