Search for books, ebooks, articles, and more
Why We Can't Have Nice Things
by
In 2016, social media users in Thailand called out the Paris-based luxury fashion house Balenciaga for copying the popular Thai "rainbow bag," using Balenciaga's hashtags to circulate memes revealing the source of the bags' design. In Why We Can't Have Nice Things Minh-Ha T. Pham examines the way social media users monitor the fashion market for the appearance of knockoff fashion, design theft, and plagiarism. Tracing the history of fashion antipiracy efforts back to the 1930s, she foregrounds the work of policing that has been tacitly outsourced to social media. Despite the social media concern for ethical fashion and consumption and the good intentions behind design policing, Pham shows that it has ironically deepened forms of social and market inequality, as it relies on and reinforces racist and colonial norms and ideas about what constitutes copying and what counts as creativity. These struggles over ethical fashion and intellectual property, Pham demonstrates, constitute deeper struggles over the colonial legacies of cultural property in digital and global economies.
We Wear Culture stitches together the art, history, and scholarship of fashion from around the world. Works of fashion from 40 countries are available, and the stories of these works are shared through more than 450 curated, interactive stories, ranging in topic from traditional dress to contemporary couture.
Our Educational Membership provides access to a Standard Membership, which includes the majority of content and access to all virtual events.
*Advance Membership articles and Vogue Business Index are not included.*
Please note: Vogue Business often redirects or links to Vogue.com and Vogue Runway which are not part of the FIT Library's subscription.
contains fashion specific dictionaries and encyclopedias. It's a great place to get definitions and overviews on a topic.
contains fashion specific dictionaries and encyclopedias.
has thousands of images from museum collections around the world. You can browse by Country of Origin, Museum, Medium and Time Period.
Every issue from 1892-Current, including articles, ads, editorial content
digital repository database of approximately 64,000 digital images intended for both research and instructional use by FIT students and faculty. Includes our designer files.
Harper's Bazaar (US): 1867-present
Harper's Bazaar (UK): April 1930 - Dec 1969
Harpers and Queen (UK): Nov 1970 - Feb 2006
Harper's Bazaar (UK): Mar 2006 - Dec 2015
Accessible America: a history of disability and design (eBook)
by
Design Meets Disability
by
Fashion, Disability, and Co-Design
by
Fashion Design for Living
by
Inclusive Design
by
Making Disability Modern : Design Histories (SUNY book)
by
