Skip to Main Content

Citing Sources: Chicago/ Turabian

Book with one Author

One Author

Remember to italicize the book title.

 

 

Notes Bibliography Format

Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher, Publication Date.

Notes Bibliography Example 

Cunningham, Bill. Fashion Climbing. New York: Penguin Press, 2018.

Author-Date Format

Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher.

Author-Date Example

Cunningham, Bill. 2018. Fashion Climbing. New York: Penguin Press.

Book with Multiple Authors

Multiple Authors

Two authors or more:
(List the authors in the order they are listed in the book. Notice that the order of the second author's name is different from the first author.)

 

Notes Bibliography Example 

Koda, Harold, and Kohle Yohannan. The Model as Muse: Embodying Fashion.  New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art / Yale University Press, 2009.

Author-Date Format

Koda, Harold, and Kohle Yohannan. 2009. The Model as Muse: Embodying Fashion.  New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art / Yale University Press.

Book by a Group/Organization/Corporation

Group

Sometimes there is no individual author but rather an organization, association, government agency or corporation that is the author of a book.  The organization's name goes where the author's name would go.

 

Notes Bibliography Example 

American Viscose Corporation. Rayon Technology: Handbook for Textile Mills. New York: McGraw-Hill Book Co., 1948.

(Sometimes the organizational author is the same as the publisher.  It's acceptable to list it twice.)

The Metropolitan Museum of Art. The Metropolitan Museum of Art Guide. New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2012.

Author-Date Format

American Viscose Corporation. 1948. Rayon Technology: Handbook for Textile Mills. New York: McGraw-Hill Book Co.

(Sometimes the organizational author is the same as the publisher.  It's acceptable to list it twice.)

The Metropolitan Museum of Art. 2012. The Metropolitan Museum of Art Guide. New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Book With No Author

No Author

If there is no author just begin with the title.  When you are alphabetizing your works cited page, treat the first word of the title as if it were an author's last name.  Trying to avoid listing Anonymous as the author unless the book is specifically attributed as Anonymous.

Notes Bibliography Example 

Statistical Fact Book: The Definitive Source for Direct Marketing Benchmarks. New York: Direct Marketing Association, 2009.

Author-Date Format

Statistical Fact Book: The Definitive Source for Direct Marketing Benchmarks. 2009. New York: Direct Marketing Association.

eBook

eBook

eBooks are cited similarly to print books but should mention the platform or file type (e.g. Kindle). Include the URL or name of the database.

 

Notes Bibliography Example 

Sandhu, Arti. Indian Fashion: Tradition, Innovation, Style. London: Bloomsbury Fashion Central, 2015. http://dx.doi.org/10.5040/9781474232364.

Author-Date Format

Sandhu, Arti. 2015. Indian Fashion: Tradition, Innovation, Style. London: Bloomsbury Fashion Central. http://dx.doi.org/10.5040/9781474232364.

Anthology/Collection

Anthology

If you are citing one essay/chapter of an anthology cite the author of the chapter, followed by the title of the chapter in quotes then use the word "in" before the title of the full book.

Notes Bibliography Example 

Wheatley, Phillis. "To His Excellency George Washington." In The Norton Anthology of American Literature. Vol. 1, edited by Nina Baym, 427. Shorter 8th ed. New York: W.W. Norton, 2013.

 

(If you are citing the entire anthology, the editor is listed before the title. Here is an example:)

Baym, Nina, ed. The Norton Anthology of American Literature. Vol 1. Shorter 8th ed. New York: W.W. Norton, 2013.

Author-Date Format

Wheatley, Phillis. 2013. "To His Excellency George Washington." In The Norton Anthology of American Literature. Vol. 1, edited by Nina Baym, 427. Shorter 8th ed. New York: W.W. Norton.

 

(If you are citing the entire anthology, the editor is listed before the title. Here is an example:)

Baym, Nina, ed. 2013. The Norton Anthology of American Literature. Vol 1. Shorter 8th ed. New York: W.W. Norton, 2013.

Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu