LibGuides: Citing Sources: Chicago/ Turabian: Image/Photograph

Image from Website

For images from the internet and social media try to include the date of publication or date posted. If that is not available include the date you accessed the source. Usually the title of a photo in a website or social media post is in quotations (following the format of articles or blog posts). However the title of a work in a museum is usually in italics whether you visited it in person at the museum or looked it up online through a database or museum website.

The official Chicago Manual of Style only requires footnote or in-text citation for images/multimedia and does not require that you include images in your bibliography page but your professor might feel differently! Check to see what your teacher or syllabus requires.

If the the picture was found using Google do NOT cite Google as the publisher, visit the original page and use information from the website that is hosting the picture.

Notes Bibliography Format	Last Name, First Name. "Title of Image." Medium/Format. Website Title, Month Date, Year Published. URL.
Bibliography Example	Souza, Pete. "President Obama, Vice President Biden and Members of His National Security Team." Photo. NPR, October 26, 2016. www.npr.org/2016/10/26/499490029/photos-one-photographers-remarkable-chance-to-cover-the-president.
Footnote Example	1. Pete Souza, "President Obama, Vice President Biden and Members of His National Security Team," Photo, NPR, October 26, 2016. www.npr.org/2016/10/26/499490029/photos-one-photographers-remarkable-chance-to-cover-the-president.

Image from Social Media

For title you may use the text of the post up to the first 160 characters. Include the name of the social media service. Use the account name (if you know it) as well as the full name of the author.

Notes Bibliography Format	Last Name, First Name. "Title of Image." Medium/Format. Website Title, Month Date, Year Published. URL.
Bibliography Example	Dressed_Podcast (@dressed_podcast). "20,000 followers!" Instagram photo, January 8, 2019. www.instagram.com/p/BsYKpQkADCr/.
Footnote Example	1. Dressed_Podcast (@dressed_podcast), "20,000 followers!" Instagram photo, January 8, 2019. www.instagram.com/p/BsYKpQkADCr/.

Image from a Database

Although this image is almost identical to the image from the Metropolitan Museum of Art's website it is cited in the style of an article from a database. Also note that ARTSTOR's data is slightly different from the Metropolitan Museum of Art's ("verso" instead of "obverse", "probably 1887" instead of "1887"). Whenever possible try to copy citation information word for word.

Notes Bibliography Format	*Last Name, First Name. Title of Image. Date. Medium/Format, Dimensions of Work. Name of Museum. City. URL.*
Bibliography Example	van Gogh, Vincent. Self-portrait with a Straw Hat (verso: the Potato Peeler). probably 1887. oil on canvas, 40.6 x 31.8 cm. The Metropolitan Museum of Art. New York. libproxy.fitsuny.edu:2717/asset/MMA_IAP_1039651908.
Footnote Example	1. Vincent van Gogh, Self-portrait with a Straw Hat (verso: the Potato Peeler), probably 1887, oil on canvas, 40.6 x 31.8 cm, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, libproxy.fitsuny.edu:2717/asset/MMA_IAP_1039651908.

Image in a Museum

VanGogh Museum

Most of the information you will need for the citation can be found in the museum label. Remember to put the title of the work in italics.

Bibliography Example	*van Gogh, Vincent. Self-portrait with a Straw Hat (verso: the Potato Peeler).* probably 1887. oil on canvas, 40.6 x 31.8 cm. The Metropolitan Museum of Art. New York.**
Footnote Example	*1. Vincent van Gogh, Self-portrait with a Straw Hat (verso: the Potato Peeler), probably 1887, oil on canvas, 40.6 x 31.8 cm, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.*

Image in Print

Here is an example of how to cite the same painting but from a picture in a book. (Note that the museum description and book description differ slightly). If you have information about the painting title and wish to emphasize the painting (over the book that it appears in) you can include that as well as information about the book. However if the pictures are numbered (fig 1, fig 2, etc.) you can leave out information about the picture and just list the name of the figure as its listed in the book. Both examples are listed below.

Bibliography Example	*van Gogh, Vincent. Self-Portrait. Probably 1887. Oil on Canvas. In Van Gogh in Arles. Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1984.* *Pickvance, Ronald, and Harry N. Abrams. Van Gogh in Arles.* New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1984.**
Footnote Example	*1. Vincent van Gogh, Self-portrait with a Straw Hat,* probably 1887, Oil on Canvas, In Van Gogh in Arles (New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1984), 34. 1. Ronald Pickvance and Harry N. Abrams, Van Gogh in Arles (New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1984), 34, fig 1.**

Bibliography Example

van Gogh, Vincent. Self-Portrait. Probably 1887. Oil on Canvas. In Van Gogh in Arles. Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1984.

Pickvance, Ronald, and Harry N. Abrams. Van Gogh in Arles. New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1984.

Footnote Example

1. Vincent van Gogh, Self-portrait with a Straw Hat, probably 1887, Oil on Canvas, In Van Gogh in Arles (New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1984), 34.

1. Ronald Pickvance and Harry N. Abrams, Van Gogh in Arles (New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1984), 34, fig 1.

Personal Photograph

Our recommendations for citing a photo you took yourself follow the format for the citation style of a personal communication. Cite yourself as the author and include the date. For a personal, unpublished photo you only need a footnote.

Footnote Example	1. Jane Smith, personal photo, September 25, 2015.