Basic Format:
If possible try to include the DOI [digital object identifier]. Unlike a database link, which can expire, a DOI is like a unique barcode. If you do not see a DOI number include a link to the article. Some databases have a button that gives you a "permalink" which is a permanent link to the article that will not expire.) A third option is to just give the name of the database you retrieved the article from.
|
Notes Bibliography Format |
(Year of publication after issue number) Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number, issue number (Date of Publication): Page Numbers, Database Name, DOI. |
|---|---|
|
Notes Bibliography Examples |
(Scholarly Journal/Magazine/Newspaper from Database with DOI) Alegi, Peter. “Rewriting Patriarchal Scripts: Women, Labor, and Popular Culture in South African Clothing Industry Beauty Contests, 1970s-2005.” Journal of Social History 42, no. 1 (Fall 2008): 31–56. doi:10.1353/jsh.0.0070.
(Scholarly Journal/Magazine/Newspaper from Database with stable URL/permalink) Pouillard, Véronique. "Design Piracy in the Fashion Industries of Paris and New York in the Interwar Years." The Business History Review 85, no. 2 (Summer 2011): 319-344. https://libproxy.fitsuny.edu:2598/stable/41301394
(Scholarly Journal/Magazine/Newspaper from Database with no link, just database name) Kantrowitz, Rachel. "Harry Gamble, Contesting French West Africa: Battles over Schools and the Colonial Order, 1900-1950." French Politics, Culture and Society 36, no. 3 (Winter 2018): 173. Gale Academic OneFile. |
| Author-Date Format |
(Year of publication after author's name.) Last Name, First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number, issue number (month/season of publication): Page Numbers, Database Name, DOI. |
|---|
|
Author-Date Example |
(Scholarly Journal/Magazine/Newspaper from Database) Alegi, Peter. 2008. “Rewriting Patriarchal Scripts: Women, Labor, and Popular Culture in South African Clothing Industry Beauty Contests, 1970s-2005.” Journal of Social History 42, no. 1 (Fall): 31–56. doi:10.1353/jsh.0.0070. |
|---|
When citing an article with multiple authors, list all author's names. However once you have a work with more than ten authors (that's the cutoff for some reason ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ ), list only the first seven authors followed by the phrase et al. (latin for "and others").
|
Notes Bibliography Example |
Kim, Wooseong, Wenpeng Zhu, Gabriel Lambert Hendricks, Daria Van Tyne, Andrew D. Steele, Colleen E. Keohane, Nico Fricke, et al. "A New Class of Synthetic Retinoid Antibiotics Effective Against Bacterial Persisters." Nature 556, no. 7699 (April 2018): 103. https://doi.org/10.1038/nature26157 |
|---|
|
Author-Date Example |
Kim, Wooseong, Wenpeng Zhu, Gabriel Lambert Hendricks, Daria Van Tyne, Andrew D. Steele, Colleen E. Keohane, Nico Fricke, et al. 2018."A New Class of Synthetic Retinoid Antibiotics Effective Against Bacterial Persisters." Nature 556, no. 7699 (April): 103. https://doi.org/10.1038/nature26157 |
|---|
If you are citing an article that is online-only (does not appear in print) and does not have page numbers then leave the page numbers out. If there is no publication date include the date accessed (the day you looked at the article online).
|
Notes Bibliography Example |
Grimes, Ivy. "Dream Where Paul Simon Was My Boyfriend." Box of Jars 6, Accessed March 30, 2017, www.boxofjars.com/vol6/dream-where-paul-simon-by-ivy-grimes.html. |
|---|
|
Author-Date Example |
Grimes, Ivy. n.d. "Dream Where Paul Simon Was My Boyfriend." Box of Jars 6, Accessed March 30, 2017, www.boxofjars.com/vol6/dream-where-paul-simon-by-ivy-grimes.html. |
|---|
Magazines are cited similarly to scholarly journals (What's the difference between a scholarly journal and a magazine?) but are usually only cited with the date. The page number is cited in either the footnote or parenthetical reference but not in the bibliography. If you are citing an online version of a magazine, include the URL where you accessed the magazine article.
|
Notes Bibliography Example |
Fiori, Pamela. "All About Audrey." Harper's Bazaar, February 2013. https://libproxy.fitsuny.edu:2818/docview/1736651328?accountid=27253. |
|---|
|
Author-Date Example |
Fiori, Pamela. 2013. "All About Audrey." Harper's Bazaar, February 2013. https://libproxy.fitsuny.edu:2818/docview/1736651328?accountid=27253. |
|---|
Citing a newspaper is similar to citing a magazine article. If newspaper is the late or early edition (usually marked on the front page), you make a note of it after the article title.
|
Notes Bibliography Examples |
Jargon, Julie. "Starbucks CEO Faces U.S. Challenge." Wall Street Journal, April 3, 2017. https://libproxy.fitsuny.edu:2818/docview/1883051034?accountid=27253
Krugman, Andrew. "Fear of Eating." New York Times, May 21 2007. Late edition. |
|---|
|
Author-Date Examples |
Jargon, Julie. 2017. "Starbucks CEO Faces U.S. Challenge." Wall Street Journal, April 3, 2017. https://libproxy.fitsuny.edu:2818/docview/1883051034?accountid=27253
Krugman, Andrew. 2007. "Fear of Eating." New York Times, May 21 2007. Late edition. |
|---|
Some databases such as Mintel, Hoover's and MRI contain reports rather than articles. The title of the report should be in italics. If there is no author, the company that created the report can be given as the author.
|
Notes Bibliography Examples |
DeSalva, Alexis. Men's and Women's Footwear - US. Mintel Academic, May 2018. http://libproxy.fitsuny.edu:2151/display/860397/. (In this example, MRI+University Reporter is both the author and publisher. When this happens it is considered acceptable to just list the author and no publisher, rather than list them twice.) MRI+ University Reporter. Health & Beauty Aids: Nail Care Products & Polish (Women). Spring 2015. www.gfkmrismartsystem.com/UniversityReporter/Report.aspx.
(The date you accessed the report is optional, but can be helpful to your professor or other researchers if there is no publication date.) D & B Hoovers. Lululemon Athletica Canada Inc Company Description. Accessed January 3, 2019. https://app.avention.com/company/2daee78d-d97d-3c08-9dfd-5732be06758f#report/company_description_report. |
|---|
|
Author-Date Examples |
DeSalva, Alexis. 2018. Men's and Women's Footwear - US. Mintel Academic, May 2018. http://libproxy.fitsuny.edu:2151/display/860397/. (In this example, MRI+University Reporter is both the author and publisher. When this happens it is considered acceptable to just list the author and no publisher, rather than list them twice.) MRI+ University Reporter. 2015. Health & Beauty Aids: Nail Care Products & Polish (Women). Spring 2015. www.gfkmrismartsystem.com/UniversityReporter/Report.aspx.
(The date you accessed the report is optional, but can be helpful to your professor or other researchers if there is no publication date.) D & B Hoovers. n.d. Lululemon Athletica Canada Inc Company Description. Accessed January 3, 2019. https://app.avention.com/company/2daee78d-d97d-3c08-9dfd-5732be06758f#report/company_description_report. |
|---|
https://www.easybib.com/guides/citation-guides/chicago-turabian/how-to-cite-a-report-chicago-turabian/
https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/book/ed17/part3/ch14/psec220.html
| Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu |