The FIT Library has been collecting manuals for sewing techniques since it opened. We have everything from reprints of 19th Century magazines with instructions for Victorian accessories to the latest online publications that discuss zero-waste cutting techniques and smart textiles. We encourage you to look at different sewing guides because among the repetition there are often creative new ways to solve the same design problems.
This page offers the guides to basic construction methods. For more advanced or specific help, see subsequent pages on this guide.
EMc/MS 11/2021, Icon made by smalllikeart from www.flaticon.com
TT705 .N48 2011
TT515 .K55 2014
TT515 .S483 2011
TT705 .S465 2011
TT515 .H57 2012
TT705 .H391 2014
Former FIT student Emily Keller presents the seam finishes project she completed in her FIT Beginning Apparel Construction course here at FIT.
Construction for Fashion Design, 2nd ed. by
Construction is the foundation of fashion design; it takes passion and great skill to turn a two-dimensional drawing into a successful garment. Construction for Fashion Design guides readers through the process, teaching the theory, practical skills and techniques that they need to succeed. It leads readers through the essential stages of creating a garment, from pattern cutting and draping on the mannequin to sewing techniques and haberdashery. This fully revised and expanded second edition features insightful case studies with leading creative practitioners at the cutting edge of the fashion industry today, complete with detailed, step-by-step exercises that enable readers to contextualise their knowledge and put it into practise for the creation of their own successful projects.
Dressmaking: The Indispensable Guide by
A practical illustrated guide to techniques, tools and troubleshooting from a couture dressmaker. This book is a beautifully presented and comprehensive resource for dressmakers new to the craft and for those who want to take their skills further. It features scores of step-by-step sequences showing every kind of technique, from using and adapting paper patterns, to couture-inspired seaming techniques that will take garment-making skills to a new level. Some notable and practical features of the book are: all photos illustrate the sewer's perspective from above, whether hand sewing or using a machine fine details (such as a small notch) are shown in close-up photo call outs photo annotations point out important details lengthy descriptive captions leave no opportunity for confusion. The contents cover the full breadth of dressmaking. The following are just a few of them. Sewing Kit -- the tools and materials required, including a sewing machine, overlocker/serger, and how to choose and use them Preparation -- Natural and synthetic fabrics, how to choose fabrics, prepping and handling, pre-washing, types of thread, interfacings, understanding and sizing a pattern Cutting -- Laying out and pinning fabric and patterns, weighting, marking, and tacking Making - Pressing is not ironing, creating shape, open and closed seams, pockets, openings and closures, zippers, sleeves and cuffs, collars, yokes, waistbands, decorative features, sewing jersey Finishing -- Bound edges, facings, hems, and linings Resources -- Metric/imperial conversion, sewing machine needles sizes and uses, common seam allowances, and US, UK and European size conversions. Other valuable topics covered are the anatomy of a stitch, correcting thread tension, fixing stitches, working 4-thread jersey, what selvedge is and how grain lines work, how to measure yourself (and why), how to alter a pattern to fit, making a toile (a personalized, muslin, fitting dress). Dressmaking: The Indispensable Guide is an essential reference.
The Dressmaking Techniques Bible by
This book offers you all the guidance you need to create beautiful clothes, whether you are following a pattern, adding embellishments or starting from scratch. The step by step instructions cover a wide range of dressmaking techniques from basic patterns through to couture designs, suitable for beginners as well as sewers with more experience. Easy-to-follow, highly illustrated instructions explain the essential dressmaking techniques - allowing you to work confidently from a pattern to create beautiful clothes that fit perfectly. It features an at-a-glance guide to basic garment shapes and styles, cross referenced with the relevant techniques throughout the book. Includes advice on body shape, choosing the right fabric for the right garment as well as decorative sewing techniques such as embroidery and applique. It features step techniques for making basic garment details including waistbands, hems, sleeves, cuffs, necklines, collars, fastenings, pockets and linings. Suitable for beginners, or those who are already designing or making their own clothes, this is the perfect book for honing dressmaking skills and inspiring fashionable new designs.
A Guide to Fashion Sewing, 6th ed. by
A Guide to Fashion Sewing, 6th Edition, provides a comprehensive fashion sewing resource for beginning and advanced sewers alike. Readers will learn how to assemble and construct designs of various styles using proven industry methods for more than 100 sewing applications. Chapters cover everything from sewing equipment, measurements, and fabric selection to actual garment assembly. Filled with easy to follow, step-by-step instructions and large, clear illustrations, this book is an indispensable resource for constructing quality garments. Accompanying video demonstrations help readers learn at their own pace basic sewing skills and techniques such a seams, darts, bias binding, zipper, and garment assembly.The new edition features an updated design, new industrial sewing machine information and photographs, and expanded information on tailoring. Amaden-Crawford has added convenient metric measurement equivalents to the text, helpful project checklists to aid self-assessment of completed project, and 1/2 scale patterns to make sample garment assembly easier than ever before.
Pleating: Fundamentals for Fashion Design by
This concise book, with more than 300 photos of pleated high-fashion creations and practical diagrams to follow, offers the basics needed to understand and use fabric pleating successfully. A foreword by Jack Sauma, founder of Mood Designer Fabrics, reminds us of how essential pleating is to the design world. Throughout, step by step explanations show you how, by understanding the types of pleats and their requirements in terms of fabrics, grain, bias, and other factors, you can improve your designs' creation process, budget planning, and "wow" factor. Authors Leon and George Kalajian are the father-and-son team heading New York's preeminent Tom's Sons International Pleating. While their firm caters to couture evening wear and runway fashion, the concepts and definitions they clearly explain in this book will allow everyone to properly execute and communicate designs to others in the industry. This is an essential reference for designers, seamstresses, pattern makers, costumers, factory owners, students, and everyone involved in fashion.
The Sewing Book, 2nd ed. by
Over 300 techniques that show you how to sew absolutely everything--from clothes to home decor--plus 10 stylish new projects and updated information on more than 100 tools and 50 fabrics, with a glossary of sewing terminology. Whether you are sewing clothes for children and adults, making home decor, or doing alterations, master every hand-sewing and machine-sewing technique for everything from darts, tucks, and pleats to hems, fasteners, and mending, with close-up photographs and clear instructions to demystify even the trickiest techniques. Choose from 15 fresh, stylish projects to practice your skills, explore in-depth coverage of more than 100 tools and 250 techniques, and browse a visual directory of more than 50 fabrics in The Sewing Book--the ultimate bible for beginners and seasoned stitchers alike.
Sewing for Fashion Designers by
This comprehensive guide explores all the fundamental sewing methods and introduces professional garment construction. Chapter One introduces sewing tools and machinery (including industrial machines). It discusses how to work with patterns and explains cutting-out methods. Chapter Two is devoted to different fabrics and how they work, focusing on the construction of a garment, including fastenings and trimmings, and the use of materials to support structured pieces, such as corsets. Hand sewing techniques and basic seams are explored in Chapter Three. Techniques are demonstrated with step-by-step photographic guides combined with technical drawings. A guide to making garment details and decorations, such as pockets, waistlines, and necklines, is found in Chapter Four. Chapter Five addresses fabric-specific techniques, for everything from lace to neoprene. The best technical approaches to use for pattern cutting and construction are discussed for each fabric. Catwalk images demonstrate how these kinds of techniques are employed by designers.
Sewing with Knits and Stretch Fabrics by
With over 500 step-by-step color photos and instructions in a user-friendly format, Sewing with Knits and Stretch Fabrics is a professional guide to sewing with common knits and stretch fabrics such as jersey and spandex. Czachor explains the basics of working with knit fabrics and stretch woven fabrics, and how the stretch ratio impacts the design. The book covers industry methods for knit garment construction, including coverage of collars, facings, closures, bands and hems, waistline finishes, and pockets within respective chapters on t-shirts, tops and sweaters, dresses, skirts and pants, jackets, activewear, swimwear, and lingerie. The final chapter covers specialty techniques such as finishing details, embellishments, felting, and fabric manipulation.Sewing with Knits and Stretch Fabrics provides all the tools to professionally complete the garments and advance the designer's skill and understanding of the unique properties of knits and stretch wovens. Features - Covers industrial and home sewing machines, overlock machines, and coverstitch machines, plus supplies, needles and threads used to construct knit garments- Learning objectives, Sample Tip and Important boxes, key terms, sample exercises at different levels of complexity, review questions, and designer profiles in each chapter- Includes a Fabric Form template and Sample Checklist to help readers develop their own resource book of sample techniques, swatches of knit, stretch, and stretch woven fabrics. Sewing with Knits and Stretch Fabrics STUDIO- Study smarter with self-quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips- Review concepts with flashcards of terms and definitions- Access downloadable files for the patterns used to create the sewing samples throughout the text, the Fabric Form template, and the Sample Checklist. Teaching Resources- Instructor's Guide and Test Bank includes sample syllabi, suggested projects, test questions, and evaluation guides. PLEASE NOTE: Purchasing or renting this ISBN does not include access to the STUDIO resources that accompany this text. To receive free access to the STUDIO content with new copies of this book, please refer to the book + STUDIO access card bundle ISBN 9781501316494.
Apparel Making in Fashion Design by A Guide to Fashion Sewing, 6th ed. by
A Guide to Fashion Sewing, 6th Edition, provides a comprehensive fashion sewing resource for beginning and advanced sewers alike. Readers will learn how to assemble and construct designs of various styles using proven industry methods for more than 100 sewing applications. Chapters cover everything from sewing equipment, measurements, and fabric selection to actual garment assembly. Filled with easy to follow, step-by-step instructions and large, clear illustrations, this book is an indispensable resource for constructing quality garments. Accompanying video demonstrations help readers learn at their own pace basic sewing skills and techniques such a seams, darts, bias binding, zipper, and garment assembly.The new edition features an updated design, new industrial sewing machine information and photographs, and expanded information on tailoring. Amaden-Crawford has added convenient metric measurement equivalents to the text, helpful project checklists to aid self-assessment of completed project, and 1/2 scale patterns to make sample garment assembly easier than ever before.
| Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu |
