LibGuides: Clothing Construction, Alteration, and Tailoring: Childrenswear

Specialized design for children

Children's Clothing by Selma Rosen
Childrenswear Design, 2nd Edition by Hilde Jaffe; Rosa Rosa
Classic Designs for Today's Active Children by Kitty Benton
Dictionary of Children's Clothes by Noreen Marshall; Victoria and Albert Museum Staff (Contribution by)
Fashion Patternmaking Techniques for Children's Clothing by Antonio Donnanno Fashion Patternmaking Technique for Children's Clothing is the result of 15 years reprints and corrections based in an everyday teaching praxis, which lead to careful studies and ongoing updates taking into account changing needs. As in the other volumes of the series, the author has written a method, simple but at the same time detailed, precise and easy to understand.
Metric Pattern Cutting for Children's Wear and Babywear by Winifred Aldrich
Pattern Drafting: children's garment design, including grading, junior petite, sub-teens by M. Rohr
Pattern Grading for Children's Clothes by Gerry Cooklin
Pattern Making for Kids' Clothes by Carla Hegeman Crim

You might not know we have...

F.I.T. children's fashion show
The Library has videos of the childrenswear section of the annual student fashion show. These begin in 1976 and continue, with gaps, through the 1980s. They are housed in Special Collections on the 4th floor of the Library.

Business Source Complete - EBSCO Interface This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Business Source Complete includes a series of Childrenswear Industry Profiles from all over the world. These run from 2012 to 2015.

Childrenswear Periodicals

Titles in red show current subscriptions. Bold dates show Periodicals Department holdings.

American Apparel
store catalog
online: 2002-Current
American retailer and wholesaler that produces clothing and accessories for women, men, children, and babies. Catalog is available online
Barney's New York
store catalog
1999-2019
An upscale department store that sells designer apparel and accessories for men, women, and children. Catalog also available online
Bimbi di Elegantissima
Spring/Summer 1973-Spring/Summer 2000. Semiannual
In Italian with French and Spanish text. Children’s fashions from infant through pre-teen
Bimbi e Bebe
January/February 2006 (v44 n117)-January/February 2007 (v45 n123). (with gaps). Bimonthly
Formerly Moda Bimbi e Bebè, Continued by Chérie Bimbi
In Italian. Fashions for children and some teen apparel
Boden
store catalog
2010-2019
A London based clothing company that sells men’s, women’s, children’s clothing and accessories. Catalog also available online
Cherie Bimbi
March/April 2007 (n124)-November/December 2011 (n152). Bimonthly
Formerly Bimbi e Bebè
In Italian. Fashions for children and some teen apparel
Close-Up: Kids: Girl & Boy
runway
February 2010 (n3) (Fall/Winter 2010/11)-November 2015 (Spring/Summer 2016). Quarterly
Continued by Fashion Focus: Kids
In Italian. Features images of childrenswear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements. Part of the Close-Up series published by Collezioni
Collezioni 0/3 Baby
Fall/Winter 2000/01 (n12)-Fall/Winter 2016 (n60). Semiannual
Merged with Collezioni Bambini to form Collezioni Bambini, 0/3 Baby
In English and Italian. Features infant fashion and maternity wear
Collezioni Bambini
Fall/Winter 1993/94-Fall/Winter 2016/2017. Semiannual
Merged with Collezioni 0/3 Baby to form Collezioni Bambini, 0/3 Baby
In Italian with some English translations. Features photography of European fashions for toddlers through pre-teens organized by age group. Includes trend forecasting
Collezioni Bambini, 0/3 Baby
Spring/Summer 2017 (n60)-Spring/Summer 2019 (n64). Semiannual.
Formed by the merger of Collezioni 0/3 Baby and Collezioni Bambini
In English and Italian. Features photography of European fashions for babies through pre-teens organized by age group
Collezioni Preview Kidswear 0/12
Fall/Winter 2006/07 (n1)-Spring/Summer 2007 (n2). Semiannual
In English and Italian. Forecasting magazine for boys’ and girls’ fashions. Covers casual wear, sportswear, street clothes and silhouettes and flats for ages 0–12
[Crafting Magazine Collection]
1936-2016 with gaps
Browsable collection of fiber-arts crafting magazines and craft patterns from magazines, retail samples, and direct-to-consumer instruction pamphlets. See catalog record for specific titles.
(Walt) Disney
store catalog
2002-2005
Source for modern accessories and furniture for home, corporate or other use. Catalog also available online
Earnshaw's Infants & Children's Review
trade publication
April 1970; April 1971
Continued by Earnshaw’s Infants, Girls and Boys Wear Review
Edited for retailers and manufacturers of infants’ and children’s clothing and accessories
Earnshaw's Infants, Girls and Boys Wear Review
trade publication
February 1972-Current. 10x per year
Formerly Earnshaw’s Infants & Children’s Review
Special Issue: Buyer's Guide
Edited for retailers and manufacturers of infants’ and children’s clothing and accessories
Fashion Focus: Kids
runway
May 2016 (n1) (Autumn/Winter 2016/17)-December 2017 (n7) (Spring/Summer 2018). Quarterly
Formerly Close-Up: Kids: Girl & Boy
In English and Italian. Features images of childrenswear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, no text or advertisements
Garnet Hill
store catalog
2007-Current.
A Retailer that sells women’s clothing, children’s clothing, bedding and linens. Catalog also available online
H & M
store catalog
2000; 2007-2018
A Swedish retail clothing company with stores worldwide that carries men’s, women’s, and children’s apparel and accessories. Catalog also available online
Hanna Andersson
store catalog
2007-2016.
A retailer of quality children’s clothing, toys and gifts with some apparel for women. Catalog also available online
JC Penney
store catalog
Fall/Winter 1963; 1967-2011 (with gaps)
An American department store that sells apparel, home furnishings, jewelry, cosmetics, electronics, and more. Catalog also available online
J. Crew
store catalog
1987; 1994-Current
A New York founded retail store that carries apparel and accessories for men, women, and children. Catalog also available online
Juvenile Merchandising
trade publication
May 1993 (v46 n5)-November 1999 (v51 n7). Monthly
Similar in scope to Children’s Business, with emphasis on infants
Kids Fashion Magazine
trade publication
January 1980 (v4 n11)-June 1995 (v20 n6). Monthly
Merchandising of children’s wear
Kid's Wear
Spring/Summer 2010 (n30)-Spring/Summer 2020 (n50). Semiannual
Published in Germany. Avant-garde childrenswear magazine covering “fashion, life and culture.” Contributors include international artists, designers, musicians and major art and fashion photographers
L.L. Bean
store catalog
2001-2019
An online and retail company that specializes in casual apparel for men, women and children as well as outdoor equipment. Catalog also available online
Lands' End
store catalog
2001-2019
A clothing retailer that carries casual apparel, outerwear and swimwear for men, women and children as well as some home furnishings and gifts. Also carries school uniforms. Catalog also available online
Milk: Le Magazine de Mode Enfantine
Fall 2004 (n5); December 2008 (n22); March 2010 (n27)-Current. Quarterly
In French and English. Lifestyle and inspiration magazine featuring children’s fashion, products and interiors
Moda Bimbi
Spring/Summer 1973 (v12 n32)-June 1996 (v34 n80). Quarterly
Continued by Moda Bimbi e Bebè
In Italian. Fashions for children and a few examples of teen apparel
Moda Bimbi e Bebe
January 1997 (v35 n81)-Winter 2005 (v43 n116). Quarterly
Formerly Moda Bimbi, Continued by Bimbi e Bebè
In Italian. Fashions for children and teen apparel
Next Look Close Up. Kidswear
runway
Spring/Summer 2019 (n5)-Autumn/Winter 2020/21 (n8). Semiannual
Published in Germany in English and German. Features images of kidswear from new runway collections, selected and categorized by analysts. Color photography, little text and few advertisements
School Uniforms
trade publication
December 1998 (n6)-2010 (n58). 3x per year
Special Issue: Buying Guide
Focuses on school children’s clothing and current trends in uniforms
Sears
store catalog
1960-Spring/Summer 1993. Semiannual
microfilm: 1888-1993
(Earlier issues available in Special Collections)
A chain department store that sells mid-range apparel, accessories, home décor and furnishings, appliances, electronics and more. Catalog now available online only
Teens & Boys
trade publication
January 1972 (v96 n1)-October 1985 (v117 n10). Monthly
Covers boyswear ages 4 through 19 and forecasts style trends for mid-range apparel retailers
Vogue Bambini
September/October 1981 (n36)-November/December 1981 (n37). Bimonthly
Formerly Vogue Italia. Bambini, Continued by Vogue Italia. Bambini (1982)
In Italian. Italian fashion magazine for childrenswear
Vogue Italia. Bambini
November/January 1975 (n5)-July/August 1981 (n35). Bimonthly
Continued by Vogue Bambini
In Italian. Italian fashion magazine for childrenswear
Vogue Italia. Bambini (1982)
January 1982 (n38)-September 2017 (n259). Bimonthly
Formerly Vogue Bambini
In Italian. Italian fashion magazine for childrenswear
Young Fashions Magazine
August 1987 (v2 n10)-March 1991 (v7 n3). Monthly
Fashion magazine for youth wear