contains fashion specific dictionaries and encyclopedias. It's a great place to get definitions and overviews on a topic.
contains fashion specific dictionaries and encyclopedias.
has thousands of images from museum collections around the world. You can browse by Country of Origin, Museum, Medium and Time Period.
Every issue from 1892-Current, including articles, ads, editorial content
digital repository database of approximately 64,000 digital images intended for both research and instructional use by FIT students and faculty. Includes our designer files.
Harper's Bazaar (US): 1867-present
Harper's Bazaar (UK): April 1930 - Dec 1969
Harpers and Queen (UK): Nov 1970 - Feb 2006
Harper's Bazaar (UK): Mar 2006 - Dec 2015
Designers get a lot of ideas from garments of the past. FIT's online sources provide great garment images. Artstor, museum sites, and the Berg Fashion Library include lots of clear photographs of clothes in museum collections. The Women's Magazine Archive, Vogue, and Harper's Bazaar can be found in ProQuest databases, and we have other great historic sources as well.
EMc/MS 2021
This link opens in a new windowDigital library of art images from museums and other institutions.
Registration for an individual account is required for some features.
E-books and scholarly articles on fashion topics. It also offers an extensive image collection including 1400+ selections from CoPA (Commercial Pattern Archive 1868 to 2000) and a fashion museum directory.
Searches 11 Databases at once:
The Asian Fashion Archive is a digital resource project, which highlights Asian fashion, culture, and history.
A database with the goal of centering and amplifying voices voices of those who have been racialized (and thus marginalized) in fashion, illuminate under-examined histories and address racism throughout the fashion system. Featuring resources, digital objects, biographical profiles, essays, directory and calendar of events
The Met's collection includes more than 40,000 items dating from contemporary fashion back to 4,000 B.C. ranging from recent couture to textiles and accessories that give insight into life from the pre-Columbian era.
KCI's collection currently ranges from the 17th century to the present day, with holdings of 12,000 items of clothing and 16,000 documents.
BSM celebrates the style and function of footwear in four impressive galleries. Footwear on display ranges from Chinese bound foot shoes and ancient Egyptian sandals to chestnut-crushing clogs and glamorous platforms.
The Fashion Museum Bath holds a world-class collection of over 100,000 objects of contemporary and historic dress dating back to the 16th century.
The collection spans works from pre-Columbian textiles to contemporary couture and includes over 35,000 objects representing more than 100 cultures and over 2,000 years of dress and human creativity in the textile arts,
More then 20,000 objects (980 online) of clothing and accessories belonging to Canadian men, women and children, covering three centuries; garments from Montreal designers, manufacturers and retailers; quilts, coverlets and other hand-made domestic textiles.
Opened in 1977 the museums 70,000 items are organized in 7 different departments: 18th Century Dress, 19th Century Costumes, Fashion of the 20th Century, Haute Couture, Contemporary, Undergarments and Accessories.
The collection covers fashionable dress from the 17th century to the present day, with the emphasis on progressive and influential designs from the major fashion centers of Europe.
The Kent State Museum contains important collections of fashion and decorative arts from the 18th century to the present. Its eight galleries feature changing exhibitions of work by many of the world's great artists and designers.