LibGuides: Global Fashion Management: Finding Articles & Reports in Databases

Articles and reports

Using FIT Databases to find articles ; fitnyc.edu/academics/library/databases

Databases by subject: General & multiple topics, subject specific
Databases by type of publication:(what's this?)
- General audience: MasterFILE Premier, General OneFile,
- Trade publications: Business Source Complete, General BusinessFile ASAP
- Scholarly/peer-reviewed/academic: JSTOR, sections of other databases, Google Scholar
- Journal Finder : for specific publications

TYPES OF SEARCHES and limiters will vary from databases to database but look for these options:

   - keyword text search
   - subject search
   - abstract
   - proximity and other search types and limiters (dates, languages et al.)
   - type of publication (e.g. newspaper, peer reviewed)

Library Databases and Online Periodicals

BoF: Business of Fashion (current website)
Publication which aims to fill the void for an informed, analytical and opinionated point of view on the fashion business, delivering fashion intelligence on emerging designers, disruptive technologies and global brands that are making their mark on the industry

Business Source Complete - EBSCO Interface This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles, abstracts, and citation indexing for scholarly business journals from 1886 to present. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
Textile Technology Complete (TTC) This link opens in a new window
Coverage of scientific and technological aspects of textile production & processing.
Hoover's Online This link opens in a new window
Firefox Private and Google Chrome Incognito are supported browsers.

Hoover’s, a subsidiary of The Dun and Bradstreet Corporation (D&B), offers proprietary business information Hoover's provides data on more than 85 million corporations, 100 million people, and 1,000 industries.

Use an incognito browser to access this resource.
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Contains 465,000 company profiles and covers company and industry profiles with SWOT, market share, and other financial reports.
Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window
Industry market research covering:
Advertising & Branding, Apparel, Textiles & Fashions, Consumer Products & Services, E-Commerce & Internet,Entertainment, Publishing & Media, Games, Apps & Social Media, Green Technology, and Retail. Also some company profiles for "major companies and mid-size firms" in those industries.
eMarketer This link opens in a new window
Provides data, statistics, insights, and perspectives for marketing in a digital world.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Provides international market intelligence, including economic statistics, on industries, countries, and consumers.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Original market research on product categories, consumer groups, and general trends. Mostly US and Europe-focused.

If you wish to use Mintel's collaboration features, like saved searches and email alerts, then you must "Register for a FREE Account:" Fill-in required information. Enter your FIT email address [firstname_lastname@fitnyc.edu]; no other email address is accepted.
WGSN Insight This link opens in a new window
Consumer, marketing, retail, and innovation trends

Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click to create or re-activate account: https://www-wgsn-com.libproxy.fitsuny.edu/accounts/edu

Locked out of your account for too many incorrect login attempts? Reset your password here:
https://www.wgsn.com/auth/forgotpassword
To access WGSN Insight:

login via the proxy and then with your WGSN username and password
select the part of the site you wish to use from the top menu under "Fashion"
Use an incognito browser to access this resource
Statista This link opens in a new window
A resource for global market and consumer data and statistics.
Sourcing Journal This link opens in a new window
Global resource for news and information on the supply chain.
WWD Online (1994-Current) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of Woman’s Wear Daily from 1994 - current.
WWD Digital Daily This link opens in a new window
Register for a WWD Digital Daily account using your FIT email address at: https://uls.wwd.com/organization/signup/72
Once registered, the daily edition of WWD will be sent to your email. New registrations take 3-9 days to become active.
Register for a WWD Digital Daily account using your FIT email address. Once registered, the daily edition of WWD will be sent to your email.

New registrations take 3-9 days to become active.

Access WWD Digital Daily through this WWD Digital Daily link and not through WWD Online.

Reset your password using this link: https://wwd.com/help/
Access WWD Digital Daily through this WWD Digital Daily link and not through WWD Online.
WWD Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of Woman’s Wear Daily from 1910 - current (6 month delay on new issues)
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text, abstracts, indexing for all articles from the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to present with top news stories and detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture.
New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Please click here for full instructions on how to access New York Times Academic Pass: https://it.fitnyc.edu/kb/nytimes-com-academic-pass/

· NEW subscribers to NYT can visit accessnyt.com to create an account (register). They type in the school name and follow the instructions based on their location. If the new subscriber encounters an error message that subscriber can email edu@nytimes.com.

· EXISTING registered subscribers with ACTIVE PAID subscriptions need to cancel their personal subscription by connecting with a chat agent on the site, or calling 800-698-4637 before creating an account. Once the subscription is canceled, they can visit accessnyt.com, type in the school name and follow the instructions based on their location. Since the subscriber “Already has an account " they click “Log In" (Found below "Create an Account"). Input their email address and the same “Password” created for their previous account. If the subscriber encounters an error message that subscriber can email with edu@nytimes.com.

· EXISTING registered subscribers that DO NOT HAVE ACTIVE NYT subscription can visit accessnyt.com , type in the name of the school and follow the instructions based on their location. Since the subscriber "Already has an account " they click “Log In" (Found below "Create an Account"). Input their email address and the same “Password” created for their previous account. If the subscriber encounters an error message that subscriber can email edu@nytimes.com.
New York Times Historical [1851-2019] This link opens in a new window
Full text of every issue, including articles, ads, obituaries, and more. May not contain content exclusive to nytimes.com.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Offering more than 14,000 titles including peer-reviewed, scholarly, general interest, and trade publications on an array of topics including science & medicine, business, economics, literature, drama, politics, careers, technology, and more from 1980 to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects

Global Apparel Markets
trade publication
1st quarter 2008 (n1)-January 2020 (n44). Quarterly
Links for issues from (n30)-(n41) in record (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Business and market analyses of international trends in the apparel industry
Textile Outlook International
trade publication
January 1986-December 2019. Bi-monthly
Links for issues from (n169)-Current in record (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Published in the U.K. Analysis of international trends in textile trade, manufacturing and markets

This is a selected list of databases. To try others, consult FIT Databases by subject or FIT Databases by title A-Z

Online Trend Services

Database To use these online services, you MUST have a current, valid FIT username and password.

Doneger Tobe This link opens in a new window
Trend reports & forecasting for fashion. Use the password listed for Doneger.
Fashion Snoops This link opens in a new window
Trend reports & forecasting for fashion.
WGSN Fashion This link opens in a new window
Trend reports & forecasting for fashion
Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click to create or re-activate account:
https://www-wgsn-com.libproxy.fitsuny.edu/accounts/edu

Locked out of your account for too many incorrect login attempts? Reset your password here:
https://www.wgsn.com/auth/forgotpassword

To access WGSN Fashion

login via the proxy and then with your WGSN username and password
select the part of the site you wish to use from the top menu under "Fashion"
Use an incognito browser to access this resource.Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click on re-activate account.
WGSN Insight This link opens in a new window
Consumer, marketing, retail, and innovation trends

Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click to create or re-activate account: https://www-wgsn-com.libproxy.fitsuny.edu/accounts/edu

Locked out of your account for too many incorrect login attempts? Reset your password here:
https://www.wgsn.com/auth/forgotpassword
To access WGSN Insight:

login via the proxy and then with your WGSN username and password
select the part of the site you wish to use from the top menu under "Fashion"
Use an incognito browser to access this resource
Material Connexion This link opens in a new window
Leading materials-driven design platform. New users must register for an account.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Find scholarly literature, across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
To create FIT Library link for full text, click on Settings on upper left, then select Library links. Type “fashion institute of technology” & hit the search button; select ‘FIT’ as well as ‘Open WorldCat’ by checking boxes next to Library names; click on ‘Save’ at the bottom of the page. You're ready to search! Google Scholar will provide links to online full-text of some search results. Some will be an open-access version of what you want and others may link to full-text results available through FIT databases (to access these, an FIT username and password is required).

Global Fashion Management

Ask The Library

Not seeing your article in full text online?

Articles and reports

Library Databases and Online Periodicals

Online Trend Services

Google Scholar