LibGuides: New York Times (NYT): Summary of New York Times options

What's the best way to access the New York Times?

sample New York Times front page

There are [at least!] 5 different ways to look at the New York Times; the "best" way to do it depends on what you need at any given time

A specific article?
Articles on a certain topic?
Articles from a specific date or range of dates?
Today's paper?
An 1851 paper?
Images?
Ads?
Multimedia & extra features?

This guide suggests best options for your specific needs.

New York Times : nytimes.com
This is what most people are looking for when asking about access to the New York Times website, nytimes.com.
The free version of the website--which doesn't ask for a login--limits the amount of content you can see.
However, using the "NytimesInEducation" link below, you can access most of the site as if you had your own paid digital subscription.
See the process for using the site--and the limitations--on this
separate guide page

New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Passes providing direct access to nytimes.com website including most of the archive. Register with your currently valid FIT email address.
Please click here for full instructions on how to access New York Times Academic Pass:
- NEW subscribers to NYT can visit accessnyt.com to create an account (register). They type in the school name and follow the instructions based on their location. If the new subscriber encounters an error message that subscriber can email edu@nytimes.com.
- EXISTING registered subscribers with ACTIVE PAID subscriptions need to cancel their personal subscription by connecting with a chat agent on the site, or calling 800-698-4637 before creating an account. Once the subscription is canceled, they can visit accessnyt.com, type in the school name and follow the instructions based on their location. Since the subscriber “Already has an account " they click “Log In" (Found below "Create an Account"). Input their email address and the same “Password” created for their previous account. If the subscriber encounters an error message that subscriber can email with edu@nytimes.com.
- EXISTING registered subscribers that DO NOT HAVE ACTIVE NYT subscription can visit accessnyt.com , type in the name of the school and follow the instructions based on their location. Since the subscriber "Already has an account " they click “Log In" (Found below "Create an Account"). Input their email address and the same “Password” created for their previous account. If the subscriber encounters an error message that subscriber can email edu@nytimes.com.
New York Times Historical [1851-2020] This link opens in a new window
Full text of every issue, including articles, ads, obituaries, and more. May not contain content exclusive to nytimes.com.
New York Times (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Indexing from 1980+, full-text articles 1985 - current, through Gale Onefile: News
New York Times [EBSCO Newspaper Source Plus] This link opens in a new window
Articles from 1985-current

New York Times (current & recent newspapers, 4th floor periodicals desk)
Today's paper and most recent 3 months only.

New York Public Library

"How to Search The New York Times" (nypl.org, August 22, 2013)
New York Public Library's guide to searching the New York Times using NYPL resources. Note that some of the resources overlap with FIT's access.
New York Times through ProQuest (1980-Current) (NYPL log in required)
Note that while the description indicates that the database is only available at a NYPL location, the temporary remote access made available during Covid-19 library closures is still available as of July 2022. This may end without notice at any time.

New York Times access by year and format

Name	Years covered/available at FIT Library	Online?	Features	Limitations
Updated June 2024
New York Times print newspaper (In the FIT Library, Periodicals section 4th floor)	3 months ago - present	No	Full "newspaper of record" : front page, articles, ads, etc.	Not online No special online-only features, columns, sections, Only NYC sections (e.g. no Connecticut or Westchester Sunday sections)
nytimes.com	1851-present	Yes	Online-only features	Only 5 free articles per month No free access to articles from 1923-1980 Does not include access to Replica Edition (past 30 days only) or TimesMachine which show each page of the paper as it appeared in print
nytimes.com with academic pass	1851-present	Yes Register with an @fitnyc.edu email	Includes some online-only features No limit on overall number of articles	Does not include access to Replica Edition (past 30 days only) or TimesMachine which show each page of the paper as it appeared in print. No access to Games, Wirecutter, The Athletic, or Cooking sections.
New York Times Historical database (ProQuest)	1851-2020	Yes. Current FIT user name/password required	Can see each day's newspaper page by page.	Use "advanced search" to search for a specific date,. When you have all results for that date, choose any article (click on title) then select "browse this issue" option to get to any page, including the front page.
New York Times through Gale Onefile:News	1980-current	Yes Current FIT user name/password required		You can use the database to browse a whole issue for a specific date but all you can get are the articles, not scans of the page itself. images may not be included for all articles
New York Times through EBSCO (Newspaper Source Plus)	1985-current	Yes Current FIT user name/password required		You can use the database to browse a whole issue for a specific date but all you can get are the articles, not scans of the page itself. images may not be included for all articles
New York Times on microfilm (at the New York Public Library)	Not at FIT Library, Years covered at NYPL: 1851-2016 with gaps.	No		Must go to New York Public Library to use NYPL Schwartzman Building Microforms Reading Room info Details of which years are available Some years stored offsite and must be requested in advance
New York Times through ProQuest Recent Newspapers Collection	Not at FIT Library Covers; New York Times-Late Edition, East Coast From 2008 up to 6-12 weeks ago)	Yes, but only at NYPL (any location)		Must go to New York Public Library to use, (any location)