LibGuides: Color: Color Trend Guides

Color Trend Guides and Websites

Subscription resources are available to FIT faculty and students. Internet resources are available to all users.

Inspiration comes from all around us:
Architecture, Nature, Music, Cuisine, Culture, Fashion, Literature and Art.

Image from getwallpapers.com

OneSearch - Search the FIT Library Catalog

Search for books, ebooks, articles, and more

Find titles using OneSearch - Advanced Search in the ANY FIELD or SUBJECT fields (click links to see book titles in OneSearch)

Color Trends Services and Palette Creation Tools

Click links to see more about ....

Color Trend Services / Databases
Current color trend services: Fashion Snoops, Peclers, SophiColor, WGSN. These are available to current FIT Students, Faculty and Staff.
Color Palette Creation Tools
Online websites and trend services palette creation tools.

Color Libraries in the FIT Library

These color libraries are located near the Periodicals Forecast viewing table. Ask for access at the Periodicals Desk.

Coloro
Publication Date: 2017
A color code index system that represents the point where hue, lightness and chroma intersect. 6 large toolboxes hold 63 color-coded folders organized by hue. Includes color fabric swatches of each code. Also available: Color Lookbook and Color Workbook.
Color Atlas by Archroma Color Management
Publication Date: 2018
A collection of color swatches from Archroma, a manufacturer of textile dyes.
Volumes 1-6 contain 4,320 samples of color hues developed on cotton poplin fabric. Volumes 7-8 contain 1,440 samples of color hues developed on polyester fabric
Pantone (Color Fans)
Format varies including color fans.
Includes fabric swatches, color samples, and fashion sketches.

Color Palette Books

The Color Book : creative color names for designer palettes (4th ed.) / Fashiondex.com by Andrea Kennedy (curator)
Publication Date: 2017
Dating Fabrics 2 : A Color Guide 1950-2000 by Trestain, Eileen Jahnke
Call Number: 5th fl. -- Main Stacks NK9112 .T762 2005 Library Use
Paducah, KY. : American Quilter’s Society, c2005
Dating Fabrics : A Color Guide, 1800-1960 by Trestain, Eileen Jahnke
Call Number: 5th fl. -- Main Stacks NK9112 .T76 1998 Regular Loan
Paducah, KY : America Quilter’s Society, c1998
The Designer's Dictionary of Colour [UK Edition] by Sean Adams
Publication Date: 2017
Dictionary of color combinations by Sanzō Wada (from 1930s Haishoku sōkan series)
Publication Date: 2010
Fashion Palettes : color inspiration, meaning, & mood by Lauren Wager; Sophia Ahmad
Publication Date: 2024
It's a Match! : creating color palettes in design by Sandu Publications Staff (Editor)
Publication Date: 2019
Living colors : the definitive guide to color palettes through the ages by Margaret Walch; Augustine Hope
Publication Date: 2002
Living colors : the definitive guide to color palettes through the ages by Margaret Walch; Augustine Hope
Publication Date: 1995
Palette perfect : color combinations inspired by fashion, art & style by Lauren Wager
Publication Date: 2018
Practical Color Combinations : a resource book with over 2500 sample color schemes by Naomi Kuno
Publication Date: 2018
The Visual Biography of Color by Frank Jacobus
Publication Date: 2017
Werner's Nomenclature of Colours : adapted to zoology, botany, chemistry, mineralogy, anatomy, and the arts by Patrick Syme; Abraham Gottlob Werner (Illustrator)
Publication Date: 2018

Materials

Material Connexion This link opens in a new window
Search for specific properties (e.g. Color Fastness)
New users may set up an account by clicking on “Log In” at the upper right corner and following the prompts.

Faculty may book class tours to visit Material Connexion. Appointments are required. Please contact Lana Bittman - lana_bittman[at]fitnyc.edu for details.

Mindful Materials Library
Search for building products, components, materials and systems. Sign up for a free account to see full library.

Color Related Web Sites

IMPORTANT: Keep in mind that colors on the computer screen WILL vary from the actual physical color due to variations in monitor settings.

Material Connexion This link opens in a new window
A material database with access to innovative, sustainable materials and technologies from 75+ industries.

New users may set up an account by clicking on “Log In” at the upper right corner and following the prompts.

Faculty may book class tours to visit Material Connexion. Appointments are required. Please contact Lana Bittman - lana_bittman[at]fitnyc.edu for details.

COLOURlovers
A social network, as well as a place to find tools for creating and sharing color palettes, seamless patterns, and palettes from photographs. Registration is required for access to some of the tools.
The Dimensions of Colour by David Briggs (Website)
Modern Colour Theory for Traditional and Digital Painting Media
Land of Color (Color Theory) Web Site
Coloro Toolbox
"Coloro Toolbox. The color library. This modular color tool is a color library with flexible usage for the studio, in a series of 63 color-coded folders, which are organized by Hue. It includes 63 folders including 58 folders with chromatic colors and 5 special folders with gray colors. Each folder contains 5cm x 5cm removable, double-layered polyester swatches -- Coloro Codebook." Click to link to the interactive color website. Register for Coloro Workspace access..

Coloro Toolbox folders are restricted to active FIT students, faculty, and staff.

Color

Pantone Color of the Year