Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Forecast Collection in Periodicals

A comprehensive guide to the FIT Library's Forecast Collection: Current and Historical

About the Forecast Collection Research Guide

This Research Guide includes both historical and current forecast collections listed by company title and by subject. Current forecasts are restricted to current FIT students and personnel. 

Print forecasts are located in the Periodicals unit on the fourth floor of the library.

Historical Forecast Archive
Our collection of historical forecasts and trend reports spans from 1915 through 2018. Appointments are required for all users. The materials in this collection are available for current FIT students and personnel, as well as outside researchers.

Please contact us at libperiodicals@fitnyc.edu to schedule an appointment and see the "How to Request Forecasts" page of this guide for guidelines.

Online Resources

What is a finding aid?

This tool, or finding aid, for the Historical Forecast collection gives information such as title, company, date, subject, and contents of each forecast. There are finding aids for each company, and for the collection divided by subject. All finding aids will open in google drive, and can be downloaded to any device. 

A finding aid is a tool that simplifies the discovery of information within a collection of records, as defined by the Society of American Archivists. Finding aids consolidate information useful to researchers such as biographical notes, scope/content of the collection including size, media, and arrangement, and administrative history, etc. Finding aids can be described on a variety of levels such as collection, series, folder, and item level or all of the above, which gives researchers detailed idea of what is housed in a particular collection.

 

Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu