Skip to Main Content

Apparel Industry

Trade Journals Online

These sites usually include industry news, trade show/event calendar, recent articles, and sometimes include a searchable archive of articles, buyer’s guide/directory, job listings, and statistics.

Magazines and newspapers: In print and online

Issues of the magazines, journals and newsletters listed below are available in Periodicals department, 4th Floor. Click on a title to see the complete holdings (what years/issues the library has).

E-journal (online) access to some of them are also available through the FIT Library Databases (current FIT user name and password required).
Use the Journal Finder on the left to check if a specific magazine is available through the Databases.

Some periodicals also have corresponding websites/online editions. Typically they contain news updates, directories and company links, trade show/event calendars, recent articles, and sometimes a searchable archive of articles from previous issues, job listings, and statistics.For some of these websites, see the box above: Trade Journals Online.

Periodicals

SEE ALSO KNITWEAR PERIODICALS AND TEXTILES PERIODICALS

Titles in red show current subscriptions. Bold dates show Periodicals Department holdings. 

More Apparel Industry Trade Journals - by category

  • ACCESSORIES
     
  • ACTIVEWEAR & UNIFORMS
     
    • American Sportswear & Knitting Times  trade publication
      1997-2000      . Formerly Knitting Times. The official publication of the National Knitwear & Sportswear Association and the Knitted Textile Association. General knitwear and sportswear industry news. Issues (1997-2000) also available on microfilm
    • Made to Measure CURRENT trade publication
      1996/97-Current. A buyers’ reference containing sources of apparel and accessories for the uniform and career apparel industry
    • SAZ CURRENT trade publication
      1999/00-Current. In German. International magazine covering sportswear for men, women and children. Includes casualwear as well as specialized athletic clothing
    • SGB  CURRENT trade publication
      2008-Current.       Formerly Sporting Goods Business. Sporting goods industry magazine. Buyers Guide in March and Retail Registry in May
    • Sporting Goods Business  trade publication
      1992-2008. Continued by SGB. Sporting goods industry magazine. Buyers Guide in March and Retail Registry in May. Earlier issues (1991-1998) available on microfilm
    • Sportstyle trade publication
      1983+1998-1999. For retailers and manufacturers of sporting goods and active sportswear. Includes classified section
    • Sportswear International CURRENT trade publication
      1983-Current. U.S. edition, published in Germany in English. Magazine for casual sportswear and activewear, jeans, footwear, menswear, outwear, accessories, fibers and fabric, kidswear
       
  • CHILDRENSWEAR
     
  • FOOTWEAR
     
    • American Shoemaking trade publication
      1995-2002. Continued by Shoemaking International. Trade magazine for shoe manufacturers; includes historical articles
    • FN [Footwear News] CURRENT trade publication
      Three year retention + 1948-1975. Incorporates Footwear News Magazine. For retailers, manufacturers and suppliers. Emphasis on fashion trends, merchandising and manufacturing. Includes classified section. Earlier issues (1986-2005) available on microfilm
    • Footwear Focus trade publication
      1978-1986. Magazine of the National Shoe Retailers Association. Articles geared towards retailers and manufacturers
    • Footwear Manufacturing trade publication
      1986-1988. Formerly Leather & Shoes. The newsmagazine for leather and footwear manufacturers
    • Leather & Shoes trade publication
      1972-1986. Continued by Footwear Manufacturing. The newsmagazine for leather and footwear manufacturers
    • Shoemaking International trade publication
      2002-2004. Formerly American Shoemaking, continued by Sales & Marketing Management. Articles on new products, materials and technology for footwear manufacturers
    • World Footwear CURRENT trade publication
      1988-Current. Reports on the global shoe manufacture industry. Emphasis on technical developments

  • FUR

    • Business of Fur trade publication
      1983-1991. “The Magazine of Fur and Leather Retailing”
    • Fur Age trade publication
      1996-2000. Formerly Fur Age Weekly. News of all segments of the fur industry, from trapper to rancher to retailer
    • Fur Age Weekly trade publication
      1994-1996. Continued by Fur Age. See above for description
    • Sandy Parker Reports trade publication
      1983-1994. News of business and people in the fur industry. Covers national and international events in newsletter format
    • Sandy Parker’s Fur World trade publication
      1984-1994. A weekly report on activities in the fur industry in newsletter format
       
  • INTIMATE APPAREL
     
    • Body Fashions/Intimate Apparel (BFiA) trade publication
      1975-2001. Trade publication for intimate wear retailers and manufacturers. Includes annual directory. Earlier issues available in Special Collections
    • Hosiery News trade publication
      1982-2005. Formerly Hosiery Newsletter. A publication of the National Association of Hosiery Manufacturers. For domestic hosiery manufacturers, suppliers and retailers
    • Hosiery Newsletter trade publication
      1981-1982. Continued by Hosiery News. See above for description
    • Intimate Fashion News trade publication
      1992-1997. Formerly Corsets & Brassieres. Trade publication for intimate apparel industry
    • Linea Intima trade publication
      1970-2006. In Italian. Fashion-minded trade publication featuring the newest trends in lingerie and intimate apparel
    • Sous CURRENT trade publication
      1999-Current. In German. Lingerie fashion magazine; covers international fabric and lingerie shows and trend forecasting, including men’s and women’s foundations, hosiery and swimwear

  • KNITWEAR

    • American Sportswear & Knitting Times  trade publication
      1997-2000. Formerly Knitting Times. The official publication of the National Knitwear & Sportswear Association and the Knitted Textile Association. General knitwear and sportswear industry news. Issues (1997-2000) also available on microfilm
    • Knit Americas  trade publication
      2004-2005. Incorporating American Sportswear & Knitting Times; absorbed into Knitting International. Coverage of the North American knitting industry
    • Knitted Outerwear Times  trade publication
      1933-1970. Continued by Knitting Times. Covers production and sales in the mass-production knitting industry
    • Knitted Outwear Times Yearbook [This title is not yet cataloged] trade publication
      Formerly National Knitted Outwear Association Yearbook; continued by Knitting Times Yearbook
    • Knitting International CURRENT
      2003; 2006-Current. Absorbed Knit Americas. Covers international knitwear, knitted fabric, hosiery and underwear sectors
    • Knitting Times  trade publication
      1970-1996. Formerly Knitted Outerwear Times. Continued by American Sportswear & Knitting Times, incorporating Apparel World. Covers production and sales in the mass-production knitting industry. Issues (1969-1996) available on microfilm
    • Knitting Times Yearbook [This title is not yet cataloged] trade publication
      Formerly Knitted Outerwear Times Yearbook
    • National Knitted Outerwear Assocation Yearbook [This title is not yet cataloged] trade publication
      1926-1931; 1951-1953. Annual trade publication published by the national Knitted Outerwear Assocation

  • MENSWEAR

  • WOMENSWEAR

    • Earnshaw's Plus Sizes trade publication
      1988-1992. News, interviews and profiles of manufacturers of womenswear in large sizes. From the publisher of Earnshaw’s Infants, Girls and Boys Wear
    • Women’s Wear Daily CURRENT trade publication
      Six month retention + 1980-1993 + supplements. (2002-Current available online with FIT login) Leading publication for the fashion industries. Includes classified section. Monday: Accessories/Innerwear/Legwear; Tuesday: Textiles/Ready-To-Wear; Wednesday: Sportswear; Thursday: Retail/Sportswear; Friday: Beauty/Cosmetics. Earlier issues (1960-2005) available on microfilm
    • -->
Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu