Automation in Garment Manufacturing
Automation in Garment Manufacturing provides systematic and comprehensive insights into this multifaceted process. Chapters cover the role of automation in design and product development, including color matching, fabric inspection, 3D body scanning, computer-aided design and prototyping. Part Two covers automation in garment production, from handling, spreading and cutting, through to finishing and pressing techniques. Final chapters discuss advanced tools for assessing productivity in manufacturing, logistics and supply-chain management. This book is a key resource for all those engaged in textile and apparel development and production, and is also ideal for academics engaged in research on textile science and technology. Delivers theoretical and practical guidance on automated processes that benefit anyone developing or manufacturing textile products Offers a range of perspectives on manufacturing from an international team of authors Provides systematic and comprehensive coverage of the topic, from fabric construction, through product development, to current and potential applications
Apparel Production Terms and Processes, 2nd ed. by
Apparel Production Terms and Processes defines materials and terms relating to the mass production of raw materials, design and product development, garment details and component parts, fit, patternmaking, pre-production operations, assembly, production and manufacturing, labeling regulations, testing and quality control, inspection, finishing and packaging. In this revised edition, parts have been introduced to clarify the relationships between each step in the production process and chapters have been reorganized to better follow the flow of the supply chain. Each chapter opens with a brief introduction followed by terms that are listed alphabetically and grouped according to subject by use or application. New to this Edition - New chapter on Sizing and Fit covers sizing standards, fit types, and evaluation of fit - Added coverage of safety compliance, sourcing, quality control, and common fabric and garment defects - Enhanced global focus includes labeling regulations for the US, Canada, EU, China and Japan - Covers new technologies such as 3D printing, seamless garments, stitchless seams, and equipment.
Advances in Women's Intimate Apparel Technology [e-book]
Advances in Women's Intimate Apparel Technology discusses the design and manufacture of intimate apparel and how the industry is increasingly embracing novel materials, new technologies, and innovations in sizing and fit. The book reviews the ways in which new materials and methods are improving the range, function, and quality of intimate apparel, with particular focus on brassiere design. Part One introduces the advanced materials used for intimate apparel, including novel fabrics and dyes and finishes, along with materials for wiring and embellishments. Part Two discusses the role of seamless technology in intimate apparel production, covering lamination, moulding, and seamless knitting. Finally, Part Three reviews advances in design, fit, and performance. Provides systematic and comprehensive coverage on key trends in intimate apparel technology. Presents chapters that follow a coherent sequence, beginning with advanced materials, then discussing new manufacturing techniques, and finishing with coverage of performance and fit.
Denim: Manufacture, Finishing and Applications [e-book]
Denim: Manufacture, Finishing and Applications provides exhaustive coverage of denim manufacture, jeans washing, novel applications and environmental impacts. It also contains information on the history and social influence of denim, and includes the details relevant to the fashion and apparel industry. The topics covered are comprehensive with contributions from experts the world over, and the book is offered as an authentic reference book for any relevant information on denim. Provides a thorough review of denim manufacturing and jeans washing technologies Includes details relevant to the fashion and apparel industry while maintaining a high level of technological content on spinning, dyeing, weaving, garments, washing, finishing and other applications Includes several contributions from industry experts
Garment Manufacturing Technology [e-book]
Garment Manufacturing Technology provides an insiders' look at this multifaceted process, systematically going from design and production to finishing and quality control. As technological improvements are transforming all aspects of garment manufacturing allowing manufacturers to meet the growing demand for greater productivity and flexibility, the text discusses necessary information on product development, production planning, and material selection. Subsequent chapters covers garment design, including computer-aided design (CAD), advances in spreading, cutting and sewing, and new technologies, including alternative joining techniques and seamless garment construction. Garment finishing, quality control, and care-labelling are also presented and explored.
Design of Clothing Manufacturing Processes [e-book]
The era of mass manufacturing of clothing and other textile products is coming to an end; what is emerging is a post-industrial production system that is able to achieve the goal of mass-customised, low volume production, where the conventional borders between product design, production and user are beginning to merge. To continue developing knowledge on how to design better products and services, we need to design better clothing manufacturing processes grounded in science, technology, and management to help the clothing industry to compete more effectively. Design of clothing manufacturing processes reviews key issues in the design of more rapid, integrated and flexible clothing manufacturing processes. The eight chapters of the book provide a detailed coverage of the design of clothing manufacturing processes using a systematic approach to planning, scheduling and control. The book starts with an overview of standardised clothing classification systems and terminologies for individual clothing types. Chapter 2 explores the development of standardised sizing systems. Chapter 3 reviews the key issues in the development of a garment collection. Chapters 4 to 7 discuss particular aspects of clothing production, ranging from planning and organization to monitoring and control. Finally, chapter 8 provides an overview of common quality requirements for clothing textile materials. Design of clothing manufacturing processes is intended for R&D managers, researchers, technologists and designers throughout the clothing industry, as well as academic researchers in the field of clothing design, engineering and other aspects of clothing production. Considers in detail the design of sizing and classification systems Discusses the planning required in all aspects of clothing production from design and pattern making to manufacture Overviews the management of clothing production and material quality requirements
Manufacturing Engineering Handbook, 2nd ed. [e-book] by
A fully revised guide to manufacturing engineering technologies, principles, and applications; This thoroughly updated resource offers complete details on traditional, advanced, and emerging manufacturing engineering processes. Written by a team of 58 international experts, this second edition shows how to optimize all aspects of the global manufacturing process and build the highest quality goods at the lowest price in the shortest possible time. All new topics include cloud computing, Internet of Things, 3D printing, nano manufacturing and advanced manufacturing, and operations research. Manufacturing Engineering Handbook, Second Edition covers: Cloud computing, Internet of Things, Sustainability,and Global Manufacturing; Additive Manufacturing, Robotics, and Machine Vision; Microelectromechanical Systems and Nano-manufacturing; Laser Technology, Abrasive Jet, Welding, Sheet-metal Forming Process; Lean Manufacturing and Six Sigma; Value Engineering and Adaptive Manufacturing; Computer-Aided-Design, and Manufacturing; Heat Teatment, Casting, and Powder Metallurgy; Metalworking, Grinding, and Metal Forming; Composite, Mold-Making, and Plastics Processing; Quality Control, Engineering Economics, Human Factors, and Supply Chain Management ; And many more processes and technologies
Paul Cavazza, Create a Marker Co., From madeinmidtown.org
Materials Management in Clothing Production by
Fabric and materials account for at least half the production cost of garments. Consequently, the effective control of materials is a major objective in clothing production. Key areas for production control are discussed, with particular reference to factors affecting the utilisation of markers and fabric. Principles for purchasing fabrics are outlined and related to the way companies operate in the market, recent moves towards material requirements planning, and the greater use of information technology for communications between suppliers and customers. Specifications, inspection techniques and the potential for economies by greater cooperation between suppliers and purchasers are also discussed.
| Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu |
