LibGuides: Apparel Industry : Websites

Industry, Research, and Trade Association Sites

3D Body Scanner
Based on Cornell research regarding use of 3D body scanner and the issues of clothing design and fit. Also includes glossary and links to other research on scanning, fit, sizing, and more.
AAFA: American Apparel & Footwear Association
Includes industry news and statistics; membership (apparel, footwear, & international) and supplier resource directories; RFID guide; trade show & AAFA calendars; publications list; legislative/trade news; and links.
ASTM International (American Society for Testing and Materials)
Provides standards of all industries online for a fee. You can also use the site at no charge as an index, looking up recent or historical standards; then, use the standard name or number to find the standard itself in an ASTM publication. Check your library catalog for these publications. The FIT Library has the Annual Book of ASTM Standards, Section 7, Textiles, which includes apparel, textile, & home furnishings standards and contains standard body measurement charts used for the sizing.
Apparel and Labeling: Textile, Wool, Fur, Apparel and Leather Matters
From the Federal Trade Commission (FTC)
Canadian Apparel Federation
Includes Canadian apparel industry news and statistics; directories; government regulations; international trade information; and more.
The Cutting Edge Apparel Business Guide
Online business resource by Dr. Suzanne Loker, Dept. of Textiles and Apparel, Cornell University. "Provides industry-specific information to the entrepreneur who is developing, producing, or selling an apparel or sewn product or a service."
Fashion-Incubator
Kathleen Fasanella, author of The Entrepreneur's Guide to Sewn Product Manufacturing, provides "lessons from the sustainable factory floor" on topics such as production, operations, inventory, patterns, sewing, marketing, merchandising, sourcing, and more on this blog. Includes glossary; line, process, and product reviews.
Footwear Distributors and Retailers of America (FDRA)
Footwear trade association with wide interests from research, design and development, to manufacturing and distribution, to retailers selling to consumers all over the globe.
Garmenco.org
Premier apparel manufacturing resource created by an FIT Production Management Dept. faculty member. Includes many links to resources and more, as well as useful tools, information, images of equipment, forms, etc. Name changed from Garmento.org in June 2016: http://garmento.org/story.htm
Garment District NYC
Includes directories, resources, and publications as well as neighborhood statistics and pedestrian counts. The Garment District Alliance (formerly known as the Fashion Center Business Improvement District) works to improve the quality of life and economic vitality of Manhattan’s Garment District.
Label Talk from Textile Industry Affairs
'Laundry Care Guide for Apparel & Textiles' and 'Understanding Care Labels & Care Symbols'. For consumers, industry professionals, and educators.
Legsource
From the Manufacturing Solutions Center
Includes Manufacturer & Supplier directories; Consumer info; Hosiery glossary and history, Shoe & sock size chart; USA/International Shoe size conversion chart; testing info., and more
Made in Midtown
Results of a study of NYC's Garment District, sponsored by the Design Trust for Public Space and the Council of Fashion Designers of America.
more...less...
"A study of the fashion industry, the Garment District, and why both the industry and the neighborhood are an integral part of New York City's economy, identity, and sense of place."
New York Public Library Research Guide: Industry Guide: Apparel, Fashion & Textiles
Guide to finding industry information and resources (both in print & online), including associations, directories, standards, regulations, and more.
NSGA, National Sporting Goods Association
Includes statistics & research, new product directory, association lists, news releases
NYC's Garment Industry: A New Look?
The Fiscal Policy Institute's 2003 report on the NYC apparel industry
NYC Fashion
"The Official Source for NYC Fashion Information"
From the New York City Economic Development Corporation
more...less...
TOC: Wholesale: NYC Fashion Markets Weeks (includes calendar), Showroom Directory, Buyer Resources; Design/Production Support: Sourcing Database, Source a Factory to Produce Your Line, Resources for Manufacturers/Suppliers, Resources for Emerging Designers; Fashion Week; Education: Schools & Programs, Education Resources; About NYC Fashion: The Fashion Capital (includes statistics) Fashion Facts (includes Industry Snapshot, with statistics)
OTEXA, Office of Textiles and Apparel, International Trade Administration, U.S. Dept. of Commerce
Includes statistics, trade agreements, import/export information, and links to other sites.
For other suggested government and international trade web sites, consult the FIT LibGuides: 'Government & NGO Websites: Business and Economic Focus' and 'International Trade'.
SFIA, Sports and Fitness Industry Association (formerly SGMA)
Suppliers and Product directories, events calendar, press releases (industry, SFIA, & new product), industry & public affairs information, research reports (some for fee)
more...less...
http://sfiaproductdirectory.com/
http://sfiasuppliersdirectory.com/
ShoeInfoNet
For information on shoe industry with directories of manufacturers, suppliers, associations, etc.
Sizes.com
"the online quantinary" Includes size charts for clothing, people, and more
Standardization of Women's Clothing (NIST exhibit)
NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology) Virtual Museum's online exhibit, titled the "Standardization of Women's Clothing," includes a history of sizing standards.
more...less...
For more information, especially on recent standards, use the New York Public Library web site below. For more on sizing, see 3D Body Scanner, SizeUSA, and Sizes.com listed below. Also, many standard-issuing organizations, such as ASTM International (American Society for Testing and Materials).
techexchange.com
"Bringing technology to the sewn products industry" From Textile/Clothing Technology Corporation [TC]² and for the apparel, textile, & home furnishings industries. Includes news, library, industry resource list, video links, and vendor & service directory.
Threading Your Way Through the Labeling Requirements under the Textile and Wool Acts
Federal Trade Commission (FTC) guide to federal labeling requirements for textile, wool, and fur products.
UNITE HERE!
Formed by merger on July 8, 2004 of UNITE (formerly the Union of Needletrades, Textiles and Industrial Employees, itself formed by merger in 1995 of the ILGWU and the ACTWU) and HERE (Hotel Employees and Restaurant Employees International Union). Information on labor; Union activities, history, and issues.
WeConnectFashion
"A leading b2b fashion industry network, connects apparel and accessories brands, retailers, manufacturers, showrooms, suppliers and service providers with each other and with fashion business information." Includes product, service, suppliers directories, global event calendar, career information, trend reports. Also available: research reports (most available in the FIT Library - check OneSearch) & contact lists (for fee)

Trade Journal Sites

These sites usually include industry news, trade show/event calendar, recent articles, and sometimes include a searchable archive of articles, buyer’s guide/directory, job listings, and statistics.

California Apparel News
FN - Footwear News on WWD.com
just-style.com
Global apparel, textile, and footwear industry news, analysis and research. Registration required: free for limited access; paid for full access.
Made To Measure: the Uniforms, Footwear & Gear Magazine
Uniform and career apparel industry
WWD Men's
Men's wear news; Formerly DNR

WWD Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of Woman’s Wear Daily from 1910 - current (6 month delay on new issues)
WWD Online (1994-Current) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of Woman’s Wear Daily from 1994 - current.

Directories

While some directories are specific in their focus (e.g., the RN Database), others are broader and include listings of contractors, fabric and trim suppliers, technology and equipment manufacturers, services, apparel manufacturers, etc. See also sites containing directories listed in other sections of this guide.

AAPN: American Apparel Producers’ Network Sourcing Directory
Mostly U.S., Latin America, and Canada; Contractors, suppliers, services, & global industry resources.
Fashiondex.com
Fabric, trims, services, contractors, and manufacturers. Lists (not searchable)
RN Database, Federal Trade Commission
With link to the Canadian CA Number database.
SEAMS...The National Association for the Sewn Products Industry
U.S. suppliers, services, and manufacturers
ThomasNet
"Supplier discovery & product sourcing" From the publisher of Thomas Register. American and Canadian coverage. Manufacturers, distributors, suppliers, services, products.
World Industrial Reporter: Global Supplier Directory by Solusource®
Search by Global products. Suppliers by category, or Company name. International coverage. Manufacturers, distributors, suppliers, services, products. Including Thomas Global Register

Apparel links and portals

These sites consist of extensive organized links relating to apparel industry, fashion, design, retailing, entertainment, & more.

Apparel Search
"The connecting thread of the apparel industry"
more...less...
One of the largest and fastest growing online guides to the Apparel Industry, a business to business database covering all aspects of the Clothing Industry. Includes news resources, jobs boards, designer info, directories, careers guides, etc. Hyperlinks to Manufacturers, Wholesalers, Factories, Retailers, Freight Companies, Customs, Warehousing, Quality Standards, Education / Training, Trade Shows, Publications, Model Agencies, News, Employment etc...

Apparel Industry History

The 1911 Triangle Factory Fire
Comprehensive coverage of 1911 Triangle Shirtwaist fire, presented by The Kheel Center at the Cornell University Library, in collaboration with UNITE!
Between a Rock and a Hard Place
History of sweatshops from the Smithsonian Institution