Apparel Industry

Use the same terms or phrases that you used in searching for books in OneSearch, but when looking for articles, you can often be even more specific. Try different, narrower, or broader words and phrases for your topic.

TIPS:

• When searching a database that is not exclusively about fashion/apparel, try adding “fashion” or “apparel” or ”clothing” to your search terms so that you get more focused results
• Some databases include 'subject terms'.  Try searching these assigned terms.

• If a database does not work for you, try a different one.

If the article you want is not available full-text, it's probably because :

• the whole database is an index to articles only    OR
• most articles are available full-text, but the ones from this specific magazine, journal, or newspaper are not    OR
• there's an "embargo" date for certain magazines where the publisher only allows "older" articles (typically 1-3 years and older) to be seen

To see if another database has the full text, or to find a print copy of the article, try these steps:

• Look for, and click on, a "Find This Article" or "Other holdings" link in the database you are searching
• Check the "Periodicals by Title and Subject" list to see if the Library has printed copies of the magazine, journal, or newspaper
• Check OneSearch (under the name of the magazine, not the title of the specific article) to see if the Library owns the magazine you need.

If the FIT Library doesn't have access to the article either in print or online, you can request it through InterLibrary Loan, try a public library, or Ask the library for a pass to visit another college or university library in the NYC area.  See Books and magazines outside FIT for more information.