LibGuides: Cosmetics & Fragrances: Advertising

Selected Books and Videos

"All my men wear English Leather" (1960s TV ad)

50s fashion : Vintage Fashion and Beauty Ads. Hong Kong : Taschen, c2007.
Main Stacks HF6161.C44 F54 2007

60s fashion : Vintage Fashion and Beauty Ads. Köln ; Los Angeles : Taschen, 2007.
Main Stacks HF6161.C44 S36 2007

70s fashion : Vintage Fashion and Beauty Ads. Köln ; Los Angeles : Taschen, c2006.
Main Stacks HF6161.C44 A16 2006

Cosmetics Advertising of the 60’s [videorecording] New York: London International Advertising Awards, 199?.
Access Services Desk Video HF 6146.T42 C77 1990z

Cosmetics Advertising of the 70’s [videorecording] New York: London International Advertising Awards, 199?.
Access Services Desk Video HF 6146.T42 C772 1990z

Cosmetics Advertising of the 80’s [videorecording] New York: London International Advertising Awards, 199?.
Access Services Desk Video HF 6146.T42 C773 1990z

Herman, Barbara. Scent & Subversion : Decoding a Century of Provocative Perfume. Book Cover Scent & subversion : decoding a century of provocative perfume
Guilford, CT : Lyons Press, an imprint of Globe Pequot Press, [2013]
Main Stacks GT2340 .H46 2013

Johnson, Jacqueline. Classic Perfume Advertising, 1920-1970. Atglen, PA : Schiffer Pub., c2007.
Main Stacks NC1002.C68 J55 2007

Poltarnees, Welleran . Design in the Service of Beauty : An Appreciation of the Advertising and Packaging of Beauty Products for Women. Seattle, Wash. : Blue Lantern Books, c1994.
Main Stacks NC1002 .C68 P66 1994

Online Magazine Archives: Vogue, Harper's Bazaar, "Women's Magazine"

Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains every issue of Vogue from 1892 to present. Each issue can be browsed cover-to-cover in searchable full-text format. Each page and image is reproduced in high-resolution color with indexing, enabling images to be searched by garment type, designer, and brand names, among others. All covers, advertisements, fold outs and pictorial features are captured as separate documents,which are also indexed, searchable, and viewable in high-resolution color.

Is this the first U.S. Vogue ad for a Helena Rubinstein product? May 15, 1911
"Address all correspondence:--Madame Helena Rubinstein, Maison de Beauté Valaze"

Harper's Bazaar Archive This link opens in a new window
Harper's Bazaar (US): 1867-present, Harper's Bazaar (UK): April 1930 - Dec 1969, Harpers and Queen (UK): Nov 1970 - Feb 2006, Harper's Bazaar (UK): Mar 2006 - Dec 2015

Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Ads and more from popular magazines that reached the mainstream American and Canadian population. Includes:
· Better Homes & Gardens (1922 - 2005)
· Chatelaine (1928 to 2005)
· Cosmopolitan (1886 to 2005)
· Essence (1970 to 2005)
· Good Housekeeping (1885 - 2005)
· Ladies’ Home Journal (1883 - 2005)
· Parents (1926 - 2005)
· Redbook (1903 - 2005)
· Seventeen (1944 - 2005)
· Town and Country (1846- 2005)
· Women's Day (1937-2005)
· Women's International Network News (1975-2005)