LibGuides: Cosmetics & Fragrances: Industry and Companies: Finance

Financial and Operations Information in Databases

TIP: Look for SWOT (Strength, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats), bank / brokerage / independent analysts' reports, and more in the following databases:

NEW!

CB Insights This link opens in a new window
- Users must create an account using an FIT email address. Then check your email to click on a link from CB Insights.
- If needed, reset your password using this link: https://app.cbinsights.com/forgot-password.

A comprehensive global database of private companies and investors’ activities, including information about private equity, venture capital, and emerging markets. Tools provide users with quantitative data and profiles of investment firms, individual investors, private companies, and valuations, as well as reports and research articles. View any company’s funding, investors, competitors, partners, and more.
Users must create an account using an FIT email address. Check your email to click on a link from CB Insights.
Reset your password using this link.
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
- Advanced Search > Select Limiters > Content Type > SWOT Reports
- Market share and rankings
- Thomson Reuters financial reports
- Multiple source company "investment reports" (including: ValuEngine, Trefis, New Constructs)
- Industry Plunkett Reports ("Analytics, Deep Financial Benchmarks, Metrics and Revenue Forecasts.")
- Fundamentals Analysis: Financials = " Income Statement, Balance Sheet Cash Flow, Ratios "
Business Source Complete - Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window
For SWOT analysis of a specific company, choose Advanced Search > Publication Type> SWOT Analysis and also enter the company name
OR Browse> SWOT Analysis
Other "Publication Type" options: case study, working paper, industry profile, market research report.
Hoover's Online This link opens in a new window
Hoover’s, a subsidiary of The Dun and Bradstreet Corporation (D&B), offers proprietary business information. Hoover's provides data on more than 85 million corporations, 100 million people, and 1,000 industries.
- Simple search by company using the bar on the top of each page (choose "companies" if not pre-selected). A "one stop" report , choosing only the elements you want.(e.g. all or selected financials) can be generated from a company's page.

Selected features and the pathways to reach them :
- Industry (searchable by NAICS codes) > Financials > Company Benchmark Information
- Analyze Markets> [keyword search for company name] > Apply > View Results
- Analyze Markets> Research & Reports>[company name] > Analyze Markets> [keyword search for company name] > Apply > View Results
Includes reports from research firms and brokerages such as JP Morgan , RBC, Deutsche Bank, Societe Generale, GlobalData, Wright Reports, SADIF Investment Analytics, CGS-CIMB, and more.
Firefox Private and Google Chrome Incognito are supported browsers.

Financial data in Hoover's includes:

Financial Health
Financial Report (Standardized)
Geographic Segments
Business Segments
Annual Ratios
Ratio Comparisons
Company Chartbook
Valuation Tearsheet
Stock Report
Income Statements Annual (Standardized)
Interim (Standardized)
Balance Sheets Annual (Standardized)
Interim (Standardized)
Cash Flows Annual (Standardized)
Interim (Standardized)

eMarketer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides data, statistics, insights, and perspectives for marketing in a digital world.
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Original market research on product categories, consumer groups, and general trends. Mostly US and Europe-focused.
To receive email alerts, click on account settings in the top right, go to “My account and meet the team,” and then click on the "Update your details" button to enter your FIT email address.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides international market intelligence, including economic statistics, on industries, countries, and consumers.
Plunkett Research eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
1) apparel textiles & fashions 2) retailing 3) advertising, branding & marketing 4) green technology 5) e-commerce & internet 6) entertainment & media
Plunkett Research Online This link opens in a new window
"Industry analytics" (option available after choosing a specific industry) contain statistics, sales and revenues, ratios ,etc
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistics about companies, industries, trends , habits, trends beliefs and more. Info from a huge range of reliable sources.
Downloadable "Dossiers" composed of many statistics on one industry or topic e.g. Cosmetics

Company, Stock Price, Financial, and Industry websites

Many of the databases listed above have basic stock price information including historical comparisons.

For financial information directly from a company, look for its annual report (the formal "pretty" or designed version that includes the required financial disclosures along with other info) or the 10K report (or 10Q quarterly reports) filed directly with the SEC (U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission) using EDGAR.

If a company is public but not traded on a U.S. exchange (or if less than 50% of the shares are) they may file a 20F report,

Search for a company's "investor relations' page or use some of the sites below to see info online and/or order paper copies.

Barchart.com
Recent stock price quotes plus historical data in various formats, and analysts’ buy/sell/hold recommendations.
Big Charts
Prices and charts available as far back as 1970. Part of the larger Marketwatch site.
Corporate Reports Online
Very small collection of historic U.S. annual reports from 1800-1955, collected and digitized (into PDF format) by the Lippincott Library at the University of Pennsylvania. Full text searchable. Includes such companies as Jantzen Knitting Mills, Julius Kayser & Co (predecessor to Kayser Roth) Melville Shoe Corporation (Thom McAn) Montgomery Ward , Sears Roebuck, and Radio Corporation of America (RCA)
EDGAR Database
Documents filed by publicly-held companies with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including 10K reports ("annual report" information).
Full Text option "lets you search for keywords and phrases in over 20 years of EDGAR filings, and filter by date, company, person, filing category, or location.', good for fining brand mentions within a company's filings
Note that EDGAR can also be accessed through other free or paid interfaces run by outside companies.
Public Register Online (was: Annual Report Service)
Download reports in PDF format or order hard copy. Quick link to current NYSE information for many companies. Free registration required to access most information.
Yahoo Finance
Quick stock price lookup and news, with option to see historical price data once you have entered company name or ticker symbol. Creates chart or spreadsheet documenting a stock’s price fluctuations over any specified period of time going back as far as July 1986. Information for each date includes: open, high, low, close, volume, and “adjusted close” prices.