LibGuides: Cosmetics & Fragrances: Industry and Companies: Global Market Information

Current market and company reports

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports provides full-text access to market research reports on mostly US and some global markets. Browse in Category Overview > Beauty or search by company, brand name, product etc . The database is updated frequently with new reports such as :
To receive email alerts, click on account settings in the top right, go to “My account and meet the team,” and then click on the "Update your details" button to enter your FIT email address.

Hispanics: Approach to Health & Wellness - US - January 2021
Clean Beauty - US- December 2020
Fragrance Trends in Beauty: Incl Impact of COVID-19 - US - November 2020
Skin Protection Incl Impact of COVID-19 - US - November 2020
Perceptions of Beauty across Generations: Incl Impact of COVID-19 - US - September 2020
Black Consumers and Color Cosmetics: Incl Impact of COVID-19 - US - July 2020
Beauty Influencers - US - February 2020

Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides global company profiles and industry analysis.FIT Library's subscription includes enhanced more-detailed beauty, retail, and luxury verticals.
New tools include analytics, economic forecasting, and more

Sample reports that are already formatted or that you can generate:

Statistics
- Market Sizes: Aggregated sales in a time series by standard data types, per capita and growth: Prestige Beauty and Personal Care, World
Analysis/Briefings:
- "Competitor Strategies in Beauty and Personal Car" ( 15 Dec 2020 )
Country Reports
- "Premium Beauty and Personal Care in Germany" (19 July 2020)
- "Beauty and Personal Care in Tanzania" (14 October 2020)
Rank Data
- Colour Cosmetics, Market sizes by country (historical and forecast)
Datagraphics
- Men's Fragrances, United Kingdom: Sales and Sales Performance, Competitive Landscape, et al. (May 2018)
Company Profiles
- Natura & Co in Beauty and Personal Care (World) (12 Nov 2018)

Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Good for industry overviews, market share and rankings.
Company info includes financials and analysis chronologies and histories,and brand lists
Hoover's Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hoover’s, a subsidiary of The Dun and Bradstreet Corporation (D&B), offers proprietary business information Hoover's provides data on more than 85 million corporations, 100 million people, and 1,000 industries.
Firefox Private and Google Chrome Incognito are supported browsers.
eMarketer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focuses on anything "e" or digital--e-commerce, consumer media usage etc.
For example:
Leading Information About a Cosmetic Product that Female Digital Buyers in Japan Consider Important, by Age, June 2020 (% of respondents in each group)
Types of Beauty Products/Services UK vs. US Beauty Buyers Are Interested in Using in the Future, Dec 2019 (% of respondents)
TIP: Search by brand or company. or drill down by category: Topics>Industries>Consumer products>Personal care & beauty.
Statista This link opens in a new window
More stats that you will ever need, supplemented by industry and company "dossiers" that aggregate information into long (50+ pages is typical) PowerPoints. Note that "More Market Studies & Reports" links to outside reports that are not necessarily vetted or endorsed by Statista

Plunkett’s consumer products, cosmetics, hair & personal services industry almanac 2018 : the only comprehensive guide to the consumer products, cosmetics, hair and personal services industry
(e-book)

Other suggested databases:

FIT Library Databases: Business & Economics
FIT Library Databases: Companies & Brands / Industry Profiles
FIT Library Databases: Marketing / Media / Demographics
New York Public Library: Market Research Databases
Supplement the FIT Library's databases with those available through the NYPL. Most in this category are only available at selected NYPL locations, not remotely,

Trend and Forecasting Reports

Doneger Tobe This link opens in a new window
NOW KNOWN AS Tobe TDG
Choose DCS Publications > Beauty Mark. Visually impressive color and theme reports, with occasional supplementary video.
Use the password listed for Doneger

Fashion Snoops This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Beauty" section includes forecasts ("Visionary" projects ahead 18 months), runway looks, trade show insights, "Hot now" and more.
Users are required to create a MY FS account
Use Mozilla/Firefox, Google Chrome, and Safari

WGSN Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
As of May 2019, We no longer receive the separate beauty component of WGSN>
Some relevant content may still be found in "Insights" and "Lifestyle& Interiors
In Insights, choose
Trends > Beauty & Grooming from menu in the left column
In Lifestyle & Interiors, use the search function.
Students must create an account and re-activate their account every 90 days: click to create or re-activate account.
Locked out of your account for too many incorrect login attempts? Reset your password here.
To access WGSN Insight:
- login via the proxy and then with your WGSN username and password select the part of the site you wish to use from the top menu
Use an incognito browser to access this resource.
WindowsWear This link opens in a new window
Global insights from store windows, displays, and other visual merchandising
e.g. "Beauty Trends of 2018/19
Beauty: With a wave of new wellness retail concepts opening from London to Los Angeles and New York, the trend for self-improvement through beauty and healthier lifestyle choices has changed…"
Search or choose Channels > Beauty
1. Visit WindowsWear
2. Click “Join now” on the top right
3. Select "Academic" on the right
4. Under "existing members" select "FIT"
5. Create profile
6. Under "get started" select "student" or "faculty"
7. Use your FIT email and create a password
8. Click "join"
You will need to login to WindowsWear after authenticating via the proxy to use the site.

A note about other research sources

While the library subscribes to the many valuable databases listed above, there are many more that we cannot provide access to.

Often you can read press releases or articles than contain some of the content of a larger report, or download a sample or white paper directly from the publisher (often in exchange for supplying your contact information)

Publications that are generally paywalled may still allow viewing or downloading a limited number of articles per month, and may have free newsletter subscriptions that hint at greater content.
Scholarly articles and reports that are not found in our databases may be available through InterLibrary Loan and/or Google Scholar

Please Ask the Library if you need suggestions on how to proceed!

Cosmetics & Fragrances

Trade Associations

Other Research Guides

Current market and company reports

Trend and Forecasting Reports

A note about other research sources