Artstor on JSTORThis link opens in a new windowDigital library of art images from museums and other institutions.Registration for an individual account is required for some features.
This link opens in a new window
Berg Fashion LibraryThis link opens in a new windowE-books and scholarly articles on fashion topics. It also offers an extensive image collection including 1400+ selections from CoPA (Commercial Pattern Archive 1868 to 2000) and a fashion museum directory.
Use an incognito browser to access this resource. Click to watch video.
FITDIL: FIT Digital Image LibraryThis link opens in a new windowA digital repository consisting of over 100,000 images, including FIT student and faculty work, exhibitions, and instructional resources.
Harper's Bazaar ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowHarper's Bazaar is the world’s oldest continuously published fashion magazine, with coverage starting in 1867 to present with additional access to the UK edition from 1929-2015, both of which are fully indexed and searchable.
Harper's Bazaar (US): 1867-Current
Harper's Bazaar (UK):
April 1930-Dec 1969
Harpers and Queen (UK):
Jan 1972-Dec 2000
Harper's Bazaar (UK):
Jan 2007-Dec 2007
Vogue ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowContains every issue of Vogue from 1892 to present. Each issue can be browsed cover-to-cover in searchable full-text format. Each page and image is reproduced in high-resolution color with indexing, enabling images to be searched by garment type, designer, and brand names, among others. All covers, advertisements, fold outs and pictorial features are captured as separate documents,which are also indexed, searchable, and viewable in high-resolution color.
This link opens in a new window
Women's Magazine ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowContains an archive starting in 1883 to 2005 for eleven magazines typically marketed to women, with high-resolution color scans and feature detailed article-level indexing. Titles and specific coverage includes:
- Better Homes & Gardens (1922 - 2005)
- Chatelaine (1928 - 2005)
- Cosmopolitan (1926 - 2004)
- Essence (1970 - 2005)
- Good Housekeeping (1885 - 2005)
- Ladies’ Home Journal (1883 - 2005)
- Parents (1926 - 2005)
- Redbook (1903 - 2005)
- Seventeen (1944 - 2005)
- Women’s Day (1937-2005)
- Women’s International Network News (WIN News) (1975-2005)
Victoria and Albert MuseumThe collection covers fashionable dress from the 17th century to the present day, with the emphasis on progressive and influential designs from the major fashion centers of Europe.
This website, put together by Hope Greenberg at the University of Vermont, contains a detailed breakdown of early 19th century fashion silhouette, construction, and garment layers.
NYPL has extensive digital collections which include photographs and ephemera. Useful searches include "fashion plates" and "portraits" or search by proper names.
The Schomburg (NYPL) Daguerreotype collection dates from the 1840s to 1850s, and consists of seventeen daguerreotypes which depict individuals, most of whom are Black, in a posed portrait style.
This link opens in a new window
