Skip to Main Content

Fashion and Clothing History

http://fitnyc.libguides.com/clothing

Recommended Books on Chinese Costume

Searching For Books on Chinese Costume

SearchingHere are some suggested search terms to use in OneSearch:

Costume -- China

China -- Social life and customs

Costume -- China -- History 

Textile design -- China -- History 

Footbinding

Textile fabrics -- China 

Clothing and dress -- China

Fashion -- China

Embroidery -- China

Silk -- China


Search Tip:

The search term "China" will bring you different results than the search term "Chinese".  If you want to search both at the same time, simply type the root of both words followed by an asterisk "Chin*" into OneSearch and the computer will search both terms at once. 

For example,  a search for "costume chin*" is the same as searching "costume china" AND  "costume chinese" giving you more results:

Wildcard Search China

Browsing Chinese Costume Books on the Shelf

BookshelfBooks about Chinese Costume can be in a number of different sections of the library depending on if the book's focus is textile type, time period, art by country or individual designer. Here are some suggested call numbers to start browsing:

GT1555- Clothing, China

N7340-7349- Fine arts, China

NK4783- Decorative Arts, China

NK8883- Textile Arts, China

NK8983- Textiles, China

TT 505 - Designers
(TT505 is a HUGE section! Try to find the specific number for an individual designer by searching their name in 
OneSearch.  For example most books about "Guo Pei" will be under TT505.G86.)

Searching Databases about Chinese Costume

Historical Research:

Berg Fashion LibraryThe Berg Fashion Library contains fashion specific dictionaries and encyclopedias.  It's a great place to get definitions and overviews on a topic.
ARTSTORARTSTOR is an image database and has thousands of examples of both historical and modern Chinese art and textiles from museum collections around the world. ‚ÄčImages are available in hi-res and are downloadable. You can browse by Country of Origin, Museum, Medium and Time Period.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Gale Virtual Reference Library also contains fashion specific dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Modern Research:

Videofashion Library The Fashion Studies Online: The Videofashion Library has streaming video of runway shows starting from the 1970s.
Women's Wear DailyWomen's Wear Daily (WWD) Archive covers fashion and business news. The library's subscription covers 1910 to the present day.
VogueThe Vogue Archive has the full text of every issue of Vogue magazine from 1892 to the present day.
Have a question or comment about these guides? Contact: libraryreference@fitnyc.edu