contains fashion specific dictionaries and encyclopedias. It's a great place to get definitions and overviews on a topic.
contains fashion specific dictionaries and encyclopedias.
has thousands of images from museum collections around the world. You can browse by Country of Origin, Museum, Medium and Time Period.
Every issue from 1892-Current, including articles, ads, editorial content
digital repository database of approximately 64,000 digital images intended for both research and instructional use by FIT students and faculty. Includes our designer files.
Harper's Bazaar (US): 1867-present
Harper's Bazaar (UK): April 1930 - Dec 1969
Harpers and Queen (UK): Nov 1970 - Feb 2006
Harper's Bazaar (UK): Mar 2006 - Dec 2015
GT596 .C65 2015
TT504 .S74 1991
HF6161 .C44 N54 2009
GT596 .W66
GT596 .W383
TT504 .S4413
TT507 .W553
GT596 .M45 1999
GT605 .M37
GT596 .E9 2001
TT505 .A1 M55 1985
E-book link: https://tinyurl.com/yytbb296
20th Century Fashion: 100 Years of Apparel Ads by
The way we wore: The story of modern fashion--from couture to mass market The 20th century saw fashion evolve from an exclusive Parisian salon business catering to a wealthy elite, into a global industry employing millions, with new trends whisked into stores before the last model has left the catwalk. Along the way, the signature feminine silhouettes of each era evolved beyond recognition: House of Worth crinolines gave way to Vionnet's bias-cut gowns, Dior's New Look to Quant's Chelsea Look, Halston's white suit to Frankie B.'s low-rise jeans. In menswear, ready-made suits signaled the demise of bespoke tailoring, long before Hawaiian shirts, skinny ties or baggy pants entered the fore. 20th Century Fashion offers a stylish retrospective of the last hundred years, via 400 fashion advertisements from the Jim Heimann Collection. Using imagery culled from a century of advertising, this book documents the unrelenting pace of fashion as it was adopted into the mass culture, decade by decade. An in-depth introduction, chapter text, and illustrated timeline detail the style-makers and trend-setters, from couture to the mass market; and how the historic events, design houses, retailers, films, magazines, and celebrities shaped the way we dressed--then and now. Text in English, French, and German
This link opens in a new windowDigital library of art images from museums and other institutions.
Registration for an individual account is required for some features.
E-books and scholarly articles on fashion topics. It also offers an extensive image collection including 1400+ selections from CoPA (Commercial Pattern Archive 1868 to 2000) and a fashion museum directory.
This link opens in a new windowContains every issue of Vogue from 1892 to present. Each issue can be browsed cover-to-cover in searchable full-text format. Each page and image is reproduced in high-resolution color with indexing, enabling images to be searched by garment type, designer, and brand names, among others. All covers, advertisements, fold outs and pictorial features are captured as separate documents,which are also indexed, searchable, and viewable in high-resolution color.
