Fashion and Clothing History

scholarly
2011 (n1)-2013 (n2). Annual
An independent, journal for fashion criticism which provides a platform to think, talk and test ideas around fashion and approaches to criticism in a rigorous, entertaining and accessible manner

scholarly
online: November 1985 (n1)-Current. Annual
Archaeological Textiles Newsletter (ATN) focuses on archaeological textiles, creating a forum for discussion and exchange of information between archaeologists, conservators, historians, art historians, biologists, chemists, geologists, and craftspeople. Published in Copenhagen, Denmark, in English, the journal includes investigation and technical analysis of all textile materials.

scholarly
July/August/September 1987-July/August/September 1988; Spring 1991-Summer 2009. (with gaps). 4x a year
Continued by Members' Magazine [The Textile Museum]
Newsletter of The Textile Museum in Washington, D.C. Includes articles and news about exhibitions, collections and special events, lists of donors and a calendar of events

scholarly
1974; 1976; 1980; 1985-1986. Annual
In French with English text. Annual bulletin for CIETA members; publishes research and news in the field of ancient textiles

scholarly
1987 (n65)-1988 (n66). Annual
In French. Annual bulletin for CIETA members; publishes research and news in the field of ancient textiles

scholarly
1989-1990; 1992; 1994; 1998-2000; 2002-2004. Annual
In French. Annual bulletin for CIETA members; publishes research and news in the field of ancient textiles

scholarly
Summer 1988-Spring 2014. 3x per year
Formerly CSA Newsletter
National newsletter of the Costume Society of America. Lists and reviews exhibitions of textiles and costumes and profiles artists and crafts people in the field

scholarly
September 1974-Fall 1987. Irregular
Continued by CSA News
National newsletter of the Costume Society of America. Lists and reviews exhibitions of textiles and costumes and profiles artists and crafts people in the field

scholarly
Summer 2004-Spring 2010. Irregular
News updates on events and happenings related to the Mid-Atlantic Region of the Costume Society of America

scholarly
September 1983-Spring 2004. (with gaps) Irregular
News updates on events and happenings related to Region II of the Costume Society of America

scholarly
Spring 2015 (v4 n1)-September 2016 (v5 n2). Semiannual
An academic journal published in England that publishes articles focused on the historical, social, cultural, psychological, political, business, media, technology, performance, representational, and artistic dimensions of fashion, beauty, and style, interviews with designers and fashion-oriented artists, and exhibition reviews

scholarly
2014 (v1 n1); 2016 (v3 n1). 3x per year
online: October 2013 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
This journal discusses universal themes and issues on how clothes determine social interaction and behavior and their statement of one’s values or culture. It also offers a forum for the discussion of textiles and their significance in the production and consumption of clothing

store catalog
online: 2001-2018
Founded in 1971, the company specializes in museum quality antique costume of the 18th and 19th centuries and in European embroideries, silks, and printed textiles of the 17th - 20th centuries

scholarly
1967-Current. Semiannual
online: 1965/66-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
The journal of the Costume Society of the United Kingdom. Book reviews and scholarly articles about the history of dress and costume design

scholarly
Spring 2006-Autumn 2016; Autumn 2018-Current. Irregular
Formerly Newsletter (Costume Society)
Published by The Costume Society of the United Kingdom. Lists and reviews exhibitions of textiles and costumes and features profiles of artists and craftspeople

microfilm: Gallo-Roman Period-1964
In French. Reproductions of typical dress of French men from Antiquity to 1964 from the Bibliotheque nationale, Departement des estampes et de la photographie

microfilm: 1797-1839
In French. A collection of ca. 3,000 plates arranged in annual volumes. Originally published in Journal des dames et des modes, 1797-1839

scholarly
online: October 2010 (v1 n1)-Current
A journal dedicated to the examination of fashion and beauty systems as symbolic spaces of production and reproduction, representation and communication of artifacts, meanings, social practices, and renditions of cloth, clothing and appearance

scholarly
2014 (v1 n1); 2015 (v2 n2/3). 3x per year
online: October 2013 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Examines the multi-faceted dimensions of men’s appearance and provides a dedicated space for the discussion, analysis, and theoretical development of men’s appearance from multiple disciplines

scholarly
1975 (v1 n1)-Current. 2x per year
online: January 1975 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
The journal of the Costume Society of America. “Dedicated to the better understanding of the field of costume study in America”

scholarly
Fall 1988 (v14)-Spring 2006 (v49). 2x per year
In Japanese with some English text. Publication of the Kyoto Costume Institute. Presents original research on fashion and clothing

scholarly
May 2009 (v1 n1)-Current. 2x per year
online: May 2009 (v1 n1)-Current. (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Peer-reviewed academic journal covering contemporary fashion design and garment manufacturing

scholary
2005 (n1)-2018 (n5). Annual
An annual journal with the aim to create a platform to highlight the importance of fashion, especially “experimental” fashion, within current critical discourses through interviews with artists, designers, writers and curators, as well as through other planned projects and exhibits

scholarly
2014 (v1 n1). 3x per year
online: October 2013 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
A peer-reviewed journal specifically dedicated to the area of fashion scholarship and its interfacings with popular culture. It was established to provide an interdisciplinary environment for fashion academics and practitioners to publish innovative scholarship in all aspects of fashion and popular culture relating to design, textiles, production, promotion, consumption and appearance-related products and services

scholarly
Online: June 2018 (v1 n1) - Current. Semiannual
This is an open access, peer reviewed academic journal in fashion studies, available to all at no cost to readers or authors. We believe in the democratic dissemination of scholarly and creative work that removes Western and elitist barriers and paywalls.

scholarly
March 1997 (v1 n1)-Current. 5x per year
online: February 1997 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Social and psychological aspects of fashion presented in scholarly articles

scholarly
online: January 2011 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Film, Fashion & Consumption is a peer-reviewed journal designed to provide an arena for the discussion of research, methods and practice within and between the fields of film, fashion, design, history, art history and heritage.

scholarly
2007 (n00)-2008 (n01). Annual
online: 2007 (n00)-Current
Magazine of the Museo del Traje, the museum of the historical development of fashion located in Madrid, Spain. Includes works by specialists in the history of clothing, fashion, and any facet related to technology, design, and the sociology of clothing. In Spanish.

scholarly
2014 (v1 n1); 2015 (v2 n2). Semiannual
online: April 2014 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
A scientific peer-reviewed journal that fosters the worldwide diffusion of Fashion Studies. Fashion Studies is an interdisciplinary field of research that has been producing an extensive repertoire of theories, analyses and enquiries

scholarly
online: Spring 2017 (v1 n1)-Current. Quarterly
The Journal of Dress History is the academic publication of The Association of Dress Historians through which scholars can articulate original research in a constructive, interdisciplinary, and peer reviewed environment.

scholarly
September 2014 (v1 n1). Annual
An academic journal published in London devoted to the topic of luxury; considering the subject in broad socio-cultural contexts while examining both its historical and contemporary function and exploring this concept as an impetus for design, popular culture, literature, and fine art with peer-reviewed papers

microfilm: 1939-1970
(Some available in Special Collections)
Scrapbooks contain clippings of reviews of Mainbocher’s designs for lingerie, theatrical costume, wedding gowns and evening gowns. Also included are correspondence between Mainbocher and Nancy White

scholarly
Autumn 2009-Winter 2015. Quarterly
Formerly The Bulletin—The Textile Museum, Continued by Museum Magazine [The Textile Museum]
Articles about The Textile Museum’s collections and program

scholarly
Spring 2015-Current. Quarterly
Formerly Members' Magazine [The Textile Museum]
Articles about The Textile Museum’s collections and programs

scholarly
July 1992; June 1994; Autumn 1998; Spring 1999. Irregular
Continued by Costume Society Newsletter
Published by The Costume Society of the United Kingdom. Lists and reviews exhibitions of textiles and costumes and features profiles of artists and craftspeople

scholarly
online: April 2016 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
This title aims to encourage, generate and disseminate critical discourse on costume and the relationship between costume and performance. It brings together experts in costume, scenography, performance, fashion and curation as well as critically engaged practitioners and designers to reflect and debate costume in performance, its reception in production, exhibition and in academic critical discourse.

scholarly
March 2004 (v2 n1)-Current. 3x per year
online: March 2003 (v1 n1)-Current (FIT username and password required for access)
Peer-reviewed scholarly journal addressing histories and theories of the cultural meanings of textiles. Includes full-color illustrations. Published in the U.K.

scholarly
December 1971 (v2 n1)-Current. Semiannual
online: December 1968 (v1 n1)-Current (Current FIT username and password required for access)
Scholarly articles on the history and development of the textile industry

scholarly
December 1968 (v2 n3)-2003/04 (v42/43). Annual
Publication of The Textile Museum in Washington, DC

scholarly
September 2012 (v4 n2)-Current. 3x per year
Journal for the expert and beginner interested in all aspects of Asian textiles. Designed to inform about research, exhibitions and more events/topics related to Asian textiles and dress

scholarly
2015 (n6)-Current. Annual
Published annually with no advertising under the patronage of London College of Fashion, this title focuses solely on sartorial matters, bringing together academia and industry in a bid to combine academic theory, critical thinking and a bit of good old fashioned glamour

January/February 1990 (v1 n1)-November/December 1992 (v2 n6). Bimonthly
Focuses on vintage collectibles including apparel, jewelry and accessories

scholarly
1980 (v22 n2); 2008 (v50 n1)-2014 (v56 n1). Semiannual
A scholarly journal written mostly in German with some English and Italian text about the history of weapon and costume design